Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

NE's Brooke Heyne named 2017 NHSCA Volleyball Athlete of the Year

Tuesday, June 27, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |



The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Brooke Heyne of Skutt Catholic High School in Omaha, Nebraska has been selected as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Volleyball Athlete of the Year.



Heyne closed-out her scholastic carry by leading her school to a perfect 44-0 record, a Class B state championship and a No. 2 ranking in the USA TODAY Super 25.  Heyne recorded 474 kills, 362 digs and 40 service aces. 



Heyne, who will play at Kansas State, was named co-captain of the All-Nebraska team, along with being a MaxPreps’ first team All-American.  Heyne was also a 2016-17 Under Armour Third Team All-American.



“Brooke is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Brooke has excelled in athletics and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college.”



Heyne is the fifth Nebraska student-athlete to win the NHSCA Volleyball Athlete of the Year Award.  Twins Amber and Kadie Rolfzen of Papillion-La Vista South High School won in 2013. Courtney Van Groningen of Sterling High won in 2011, while Gina Mancuso of Papillion-La Vista South HS.



This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Volleyball Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Khalia Lanier, Xavier College Prep, Arizona

2015 – Alexa Smith, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Alexa Filley – Assumption HS, Kentucky

2013 – Amber & Kadie Rolfzen – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2012 – Jordan Burgess – Berkeley HS, Florida

2011 – Courtney Van Groningen – Sterling HS, Nebraska

2010 – Morgan Broekhuis – Colorado Springs Christian, Colorado

2009 -  Gina Mancuso – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2008 – Kelly Murphy – Joliet Catholic Academy, Illinois

2007 – Alix Klineman – Mira Costa HS, California

2006 – Megan Hodge – Riverside HS, North Carolina

2005 – Cynthia Barboza – Long Beach Wilson HS, California

2004 – Angit McGinnis – Fraser HS, Michigan

2003 – Kristin Richards – Timpanogos HS, Utah

2002 – Bre Ladd – Canyon del Oro, Arizona

2001 – Jennifer Saleaumua – Bonita Vista HS, California

2000 – Laura Grote – Westwood HS, Texas


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal