Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

AZ's Ben Maxfield named the 2017 NHSCA Volleyball Coach of the Year.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Ben Maxfield, head coach at Corona del Sol High School in Tempe, Arizona as its National High School Volleyball Coach of the Year.



Maxfield, who’s been the head coach at Corona del Sol for more than a decade, led the school to Arizona’s Class 6A title for the 2016-17 school year, the school’s first since 1991.  The team finished 39-5 last season with a USA TODAY ranking the school No. 5 in its Super 25 national rankings.



During Maxfield’s reign as head coach, Corona del Sol has won one state title with two runner-up finishes, along with a 3rd place and 5th place finish.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Maxfield as National Volleyball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Maxfield commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the the volleyball court makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Maxfield is the first coach from Arizona to win the NHSCA National Volleyball Coach of the Year. 


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past NHSCA National Volleyball Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Jean Kesterson, Indianapolis Cathedral HS, Indiana

2015 – Susan Odenbaugh, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Rick Lorenz, Portland Central Catholic, Oregon

2013 – Jack Magelssen – Denton Kellogg School, Michigan

2012 – Tom Turco – Barnstable HS, Massachusetts

2011 – Fred Rakers - Mater Dei HS, Illinois

2010 – Laurie LaRusso – Darien HS, Connecticut

2009 - Jan Stanley – West Henderson HS , North Carolina

2008 – Peg Kopec – St. Francis HS, Illinois

2007 – Steve Shondell - Burris Laboratory, Indiana

2006 – Louise Crocco – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida

2005 – Brenda LeBlanc – St. Joseph’s Academy, Louisiana

2004 – Lee Grisham – Wimberley HS, Texas

2003 – Arnie Meyer – Ursuline Academy, Ohio

2002 – Jan Barker – Amarillo HS, Texas

2001 – John Knuth – Marysville HS, Michigan

2000 – Larry Trupe – Torrey Pines, California

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal