Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Maine's Brian Higgins is named the 2017 NHSCA Girls' Tennis Coach of the Year

Friday, June 23, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Brian Higgins, head coach at Ellsworth High School in Ellsworth, Maine as its National High School Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year.



Higgins has the distinction of being Maine’s winningest coach in both tennis and soccer.   Higgins has won over 600 total tennis matches with over 300 victories for each the boys’ and girls’ programs.  His record as a soccer coach was 566-103-45 in 42 years, before retiring in 2016.



The Ellsworth girls’ program has had five state runner-up finishes, while the boys’ program captured a state title in 1996 with five runner-up finishes.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Higgins as National Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Higgins commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the tennis makes him an great choice for this honor.”



Coach Higgins is the second coach from Maine to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year.  Anita Murphy of Lewiston High School won the award in 2011.



Throughout 2017, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past NHSCA National Girls’ Tennis Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Kim Marchese, Ramapo HS, New Jersey

2015 – Laurie Martin, Xavier Prep, Arizona

2014 – Father Frank Kissel, Marist HS, Georgia

2013 – Vincent Romeo – The Miami Valley School, Ohio

2012 – Dick Villaflor – The Heritage Hall School, Oklahoma

2011 – Anita Murphy – Lewiston HS, Maine

2010 – Dave Steinbach – Brookfield Central HS, Wisconsin

2009 – Jeff Holman – Haddonfield Memorial, New Jersey

2008 – Ed Yarbrough – Jasper HS, Indiana

2007 – Steve Paulsen – Edina HS, Minnesota

2006 – Michael Kypriss – Dr. Michael Krop HS, Florida

2005 – Kristie Stevens – Catalina Foothills HS, Arizona

2004 – Emilio Gonzalez – Sunset HS, Florida

2003 – Anni Miller – Lakeridge HS, Oregon

2002 – Susan Stevens – Beverly Hills HS, California

2001 – Jo Cabana – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida

2000 – Steve Spivey – Needham Broughton HS, North Carolina


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal