Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

MA's Sumukh Pathi named 2017 NHSCA Boys' Tennis Athlete of the Year

Thursday, June 22, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is pleased to announce Sumukh Pathi of Westborough High School in Westborough, Massachusetts as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Boys’ Tennis Athlete of the Year. 



Pathi won his third straight Massachusetts Division 1 individual championship one week ago, beating Dover-Sherborn’s Max Schuermann of St. John’s High School 6-3, 1-6, 7-5.  Pathi found himself down 5-3 in the third set before storming back to get his three-peat.  As a freshman, the 5-9 Pathi finished runner-up.



Pathi, who is currently ranked No. 260 by the Tennis Recruiting Network, didn’t lose a match during the 2017 season.  He finishes his high school career with a 84-3 record.  He will play at Colby College in the fall.



“Sumukh is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Sumukh has excelled on the tennis court and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him good luck in college.”



Pathi is the first Massachusetts student-athlete to win the NHSCA Boys’ Tennis Athlete of the Year Award.



This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Tennis Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Jon Dollahite – Mountain View - Utah

2015 – Martin Joyce – Hinsdale Central - Illinois

2014 – Chase Perez-Blanco – Gulliver Prep, Florida

2013 – Miguel Alda – Westwood HS, Texas

2012 – Brett Clark – Collier HS, Florida

2011 – Curtis Haworth – Putnam City North HS, Oklahoma

2010 – Raleigh Smith – Gulliver Prep, Florida

2009 – Wyatt Lippert – Lakota West HS, Ohio

2008 – Casey Watt – Pine Richland HS, Pennsylvania

2007 – Matthew Allare – Kings HS, Ohio

2006 – Michael Dierberger – Nicolet HS, Wisconsin

2005 – Jack Marsh – Seton Catholic HS, Arizona

2004 – Keithan Gregg – Cut Bank HS, Montana

2003 – Shane Tyree – Lake Howell HS, Florida

2002 – Ryan McBridge – Corona del Sol HS, Arizona

2001 – Brandon Gill – Park Tudor School, Indiana

2000 – Geoff Russell – Mountain Pointe HS, Arizona

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal