Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

MA's Mike Sabin named the 2017 NHSCA Boys' Tennis Coach of the Year

Thursday, June 22, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Mike Sabin, head coach at Wellesley High School in Wellesley, Massachusetts as its National High School Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year.



In May Sabin won his 500th match as the head coach of the Wellesley tennis program.  Sabin captured his 500th victory with a 4-1 win over arch-rival Needham.  This past season, Wellesley finished 16-2, winning Massachusetts’ South Section championship and advanced to the state Division 1 semifinals.



In 28 years as the school’s head coach, he’s only had one losing season.  His 2010 team was a perfect 26-0, winning the school’s first state championship.  Sabin also led Wellesley to a Division 2 state title in 2005.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Sabin as National Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Sabin commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the golf course makes him an great choice for this honor.”



Coach Sabin is the first coach from Massachusetts to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year. 



Throughout 2017, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past NHSCA National Boys’ Tennis Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Al Must, Adams HS, Michigan

2015 – Dan Holden, Highland Park, Texas

2014 – Rusty Komori, Punahou School, Hawaii

2013 – Tony Splendore – Mt. Pleasant HS, Pennsylvania

2012 – Bill Kingston – Moorestown HS, New Jersey

2011 – Kelly Mulligan – Gulliver Prep, Florida

2010 – James Soloman – William Hall HS, Connecticut

2009 – Connie Jones – Greenwich HS, Connecticut

2008 – Preston Jackson, Jr. – Boys Latin School, Maryland

2007 – Tom Pullen – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2006 – Tim Mang – Corona del Mar HS, California

2005 – Don Barnes – Bishop O’Gorman HS, South Dakota

2004 – Tony Kamen – Naples HS, Florida

2003 – Bob Wood – University Liggett School, Michigan

2002 – Jerry Lacey – St. Mark’s School, Texas

2001 – Leo Scoda – Phoenixville HS, Pennsylvania

2000 – Gary Pilling – Walker HS, Alabama


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal