Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Texas’ Kaitlyn Papp as its National Girls’ Golf Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, June 21, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is pleased to announce Kaitlyn Papp of Lake Travis High School in Austin, Texas as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Girls’ Golf Athlete of the Year.



Papp closed-out her scholastic career winning Texas’ Class 6A individual championship with a 7-under par 137, which helped Lake Travis to its third straight state championship.  Papp, who will attend the University of Texas in the fall, is a four-time Rolex Junior All-American, earning first team honors in 2015 and 2016.



Papp was named to USA Today's Second-Team All-American Girls' Golf team in 2016.  She was selected to represent the USA on the winning Junior Ryder Cup team and was selected to represent the USA at the Toyota Junior Golf World Cup in Toyota-shi, Japan.



“Kaitlyn is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Kaitlyn has excelled on the golf course and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college.”



Papp is the second Texas student-athlete to win the NHSCA Girls’ Golf Athlete of the Year Award.  Maddie Szeryk of Allen High School won the award in 2014.


This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017

school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Golf Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Allisen Corpuz – Punahou HS - Hawaii

2015 – Madison Odiorne – Summit HS , Oregon

2014 – Maddie Szeryk – Allen HS, Texas

2013 – Jessie Sindlinger – Charles City HS, Iowa

2012 – Megan Blonien – Altus HS, Oklahoma

2011 – Aurora Kan – Chichester HS, Pennsylvania

2010 – Jenny Shin – Torrance HS, California

2009 – Courtney Gunter – Porter Ridge HS, North Carolina

2008 – Wesley Graham – Spruce Creek HS, Florida

2007 – Ester Choe – Cactus Shadows HS, Arizona

2006 – Morgan Pressel – St. Andrews School, Florida

2005 – Mari Chun – The Kamehameha School, Hawaii

2004 – Amie Cochran – West Torrance HS, California

2003 – Mandi McConnell – Grand Blanc HS, Michigan

2002 -  May Wood – The Baylor School, Tennessee

2001 – Sarah Sparks – East Noble HS, Indiana

2000 – Christine Hentzner – Bishop Gorman HS, Nevada

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal