Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

CA's Kaiwen Liu named 2017 NHSCA Boys' Golf Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, June 21, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Kaiwen Liu of Torrey Pines High School in San Diego, California  has been named the 2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Boys’ Golf Athlete of the Year. 



Kaiwen closed-out his high school career by finished tied for sixth at the California Interscholastic Federation’s Boys’ State Golf Championships.  Liu, who has accepted a scholarship from the University of California at Berkeley, shot 1-over par, which helped his team finish in third place.  As a junior, Liu won the San Diego Section individual championship, which helped Torrey Pines HS win the team championship.



Last year he was named to the Rolex Juniors All-America second team.  Liu was born in two hours outside of Shanghai, China.  He began playing golf at eight years old.



“Kaiwen is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Kaiwen has excelled on the golf course and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him good luck in college.”



Liu is the third California athlete to win the NHSCA Boys’ Golf Athlete of the Year Award.  Current PGA Tour star Rickie Fowler of Murrieta Valley HS won the award in 2007.  La Mirada’s Daniel Im, who is currently playing on the European Tour, won the AOY award in 2004.



This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Golf Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Cooper Dossey – Vandegrift, Texas

2015 – Sam Burns – Calvary Baptist, Louisiana

2014 – Scottie Scheffler – Highland Park, Texas

2013 – Andrew Bieber – Gilmour Academy, Ohio

2012 – Wyndham Clark – Valor Christian HS, Colorado

2011 – Jordan Spieth – Dallas Jesuit, Texas

2010 – Cory Whitsett – Memorial HS, Texas

2009 – Cameron Peck – Timberline HS, Washington

2008 -  Wesley Graham – Spruce Creek HS, Florida

2007 – Rickie Fowler – Murrieta Valley HS, California

2006 – Tim McKenney- Desert Mountain HS, Arizona

2005 – Brian Harman – Savannah Christian School, Georgia

2004 – Daniel Im – La Mirada HS, California

2003 – Brendon Todd – Green Hope HS, North Carolina

2002 – James Frost – Calais HS, Maine

2001 – John Bradley Holmes – Taylor County HS, Kentucky

2000 – Jason Furlow – DuQuoin HS, Illinois

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal