Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

St. Ignatius' (OH) Mike McLaughlin named 2017 NHSCA Boys' Soccer Coach of the Year

Thursday, June 15, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Mike McLaughlin, head coach at St. Ignatius High School in Cleveland, Ohio as its National High School Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year.



McLaughlin led St. Ignatius to its second straight Ohio Division I state title this past season, the seven overall for the Wildcats under McLaughlin.  St. Ignatius was named co-national champs by USA TODAY, the third national title for the Wildcats.  McLaughlin’s life record is 353-46-44.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach McLaughlin,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive

Director of the NHSCA. “Coach McLaughlin has built St. Ignatius into one of the best high school soccer programs in Ohio and in the nation.  He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year:

2015 – Terry Michler, Christian Brothers College HS, Missouri

2014 – Greg Vitello – De Smet HS, Missouri

2013 – Paul Rose – Jesuit HS, California

2012 – Andy Schulten – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2011 – Jerry Little – North Central HS, Indiana

2010 – Chuck Scanlon – Apple Valley HS, Minnesota

2009 – Craig Ewing – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Kansas

2008 – John Kissner – Walsh Jesuit HS, Ohio

2007 – Gary Montalto – Arlington HS, New York

2006 -  Dave Pinkham – Gilford HS, New Hampshire

2005 – William Stara – River Hill HS, Maryland

2004 – Charlie Martel – St. Louis University HS, Missouri

2003 – Donald Gregg – Severna HS, Maryland

2002 – Shawn Brower – Orangewood Christian School, Florida

2001 – Bruno Schwarz – North Allegheny HS, Pennsylvania

2000 – John Stockton – Mountain View HS, Utah


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal