Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Joe Finocchiaro of Glastonbury HS named 2017 NHSCA Girls' Soccer Coach of the Year

Tuesday, June 13, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Joe Finocchiaro, head coach at Glastonbury High School in Glastonbury, Connecticut as its National High School Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year.


This past season, Coach Finocchiaro led Glastonbury to its third straight Connecticut Class LL state championship.  During that stretch, Glastonbury has won 60 straight matches, which is a Connecticut state record.


Finocchiaro, who is a Glastonbury alum, took-over the girls’ soccer program 2009 and has now led his alma mater to four state championship appearances with three titles.  This past season, Glastonbury finished No. 2 in the USA TODAY Girls Super 25 fall soccer rankings.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Finocchiaro as National Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Finocchiaro commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the soccer field makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Finocchiaro is the first coach from Connecticut to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year.


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Past NHSCA National Girls’ Soccer Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Brian Elliott – Union High School - Oklahoma

2015 – Brandon Silva – Immaculate Heart Academy, New Jersey
2014 – Paul Heenehan – Ramapo High School, New Jersey
2013 – Vince Drake – Trinity Catholic HS, Missouri
2012 – Clare Collins – Broad Run HS, Virginia
2011 – Hank Tenney – Rivendell Academy, New Hampshire
2010 – Troy Tokarchik – Bishop Kelly HS, Oklahoma
2009 – Julie Bergstrom – Waubonsie HS, Illinois
2008 – Steve Racine – Kinnelon HS, New Jersey
2007 – Carlos Giron – St. Thomas Aquinas, Florida
2006 – Laura Rountree – M. Stoneman Douglas HS, Florida
2005 – Rusty Taylor – University HS, California
2004 – Jim Burnside – New Trier HS, Illinois
2003 – Douglas Freeman – Marlborough HS, Massachusetts
2002 – Maureen McVey – St. Joseph’s Academy, Missouri
2001 – Fred Dixon – Carmel HS, Indiana
2000 – James Gardner – Cheyenne East HS, Wyoming


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal