Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Ohio's Stephen Milhoan named 2017 NHSCA Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Stephen Milhoan of St. Ignatius High School in Cleveland, Ohio as the 2016-2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year. 



Milhoan, who will attend Xavier University in the fall, closed-out his brilliant scholastic career by leading St. Ignatius to its third straight Ohio state Division I soccer championship last fall.  Milhoan ended his career with 80 goals and 39 assists. He was the National Soccer Coaches of America’s 2016 National Player of the Year. Milhoan is also a two-time winner of the Ohio Soccer Coaches Association’s Division I Player of the Year Award.



“Stephen is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Stephen has excelled on the soccer field and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him good luck in college.”



Milhoan is the first Ohio athlete to win the NHSCA Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year Award.



This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Esteban Calvo – Montverde Academy - Florida

2015 – Connor Smith – McDonogh School - Maryland

2014 – Brad Ross – Franklin HS, Tennessee

2013 – Christian Roldan – El Rancho HS, California

2012 – Andrew Harris – The Gilman School, Maryland

2011 – Dzenan Catic – East Kentwood HS, Michigan

2010 – Soony Saad – Dearborn HS, Michigan

2009 – Kevin Bick – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2008 – Casey Townsend – Traverse City West HS, Michigan

2007 – Andrew Duran – Lincoln-Way East HS, Illinois

2006 - Eric Alexander – Portage Central HS, Michigan

2005 – Lee Nguyen – Plano East HS, Texas

2004 – Nick Colaluca – La Salle Academy, Rhode Island

2003 – Greg Dalby – Poway HS, California

2002 – David Walters – Lake Lehman HS, Pennsylvania

2001 – Ned Grabavoy – Lincoln-Way HS, Illinois

2000 – Dan Walsh – US Air Academy, Colorado

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal