Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Indiana's Alexis Holloway named the 2017 NHSCA National Softball Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, June 7, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is pleased to announce Alexis Holloway of Crown Pointe High School in Crown Point, Indiana as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Softball Athlete of the Year.



Holloway has had an outstanding senior season, leading Crown Point into the Indiana Class 4A state championship game on June 10th with a 29-2 record.  Not only is Holloway the team’s top pitcher with a 21-1 record, she is also one of the best hitters with a batting average above .400.



Holloway, who will attend Notre Dame in the fall, carries a 4.42 GPA.  She’s a finalist for the Indiana Miss Softball Award.  Holloway has been a First Team member of Indiana’s All-State team three years running.



“Alexis is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Alexis has excelled both on the field and off. We congratulate Alexis on an outstanding high school career and wish her the best of luck at Notre Dame, both in the classroom and on the softball field.”



Holloway is the first player from Indiana to win the NSHCA Senior Softball Athlete of the Year Award.



This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past selections for Senior National Softball Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Maddy Barone – Silver Lake HS, Massachusetts

2015 – Taylor McQuillin – Mission Viejo HS , California

2014 – Johanna Grauer – Amador Valley HS, California

2013 – Carley Hoover – D.W. Daniel HS, South Carolina

2012 – Rainey Gaffin – Legacy HS, Colorado

2011 – Andrea DiPrima – Buffalo Grove HS, Illinois

2010 -  Dallas Escobedo – St. Mary’s HS - Arizona

2009 – Kensie Fowler – Canyon del Oro HS, Arizona

2008 – Cathleen “Cat” Hosfield – Riverdale HS, Tennessee

2007 – Jordan Taylor – Valencia (Placentia) HS, California

2006 – Kirsten Shortridge – Keller HS, Texas

2005 – Valerie Chapple – Olathe East HS, Kansas

2004 – Anjelica Selden – Vanden HS, California

2003 – Lisa Dodd – University City, California

2002 – Alicia Hollowell – Fairfield HS, California

2001 – Catherine “Cat” Osterman – Cypress Springs HS, Texas

2000 – Kristin Schmidt – North Shore HS, Texas

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal