Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Woodinville's Dani Weir named 2017 NHSCA Softball Coach of the Year

Tuesday, June 6, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Dani Weir, head coach at Woodinville High School in Woodinville, Washington as its National High School Softball Coach of the Year.



Weir led Woodinville to Washington 4A state championship this past season.  Weir, who won a state championship as a player at Woodinville in 2005, has led the Falcons to four straight league titles, plus finished runner-up in the state in 2016.



Woodinville, which finished 26-0 this season, is currently ranked No. 3 in the USA TODAY High School Sports Super 25 softball rankings.  Last year, Weir was named the Seattle Times Softball Coach of the Year.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Weir as National Softball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “It’s a pleasure to honor Coach Weir, who has led her alma mater to another state championship this past season. Her commitment to excellence for her student-athletes makes her a great choice for this honor.”



Weir is the first coach from Washington to be named the NHSCA’s National Softball Coach of the Year.



Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.



Past NHSCA National Softball Coaches of the Year:

2016 – Bud Weisgarber – Strasburg HS, Ohio

2015 – Ashley Barber-Strunk – Sherwood HS, Maryland

2014 – Monte Sherrill – Alexander Central HS, North Carolina

2013 – Robert Earl Radford – Northern HS, Maryland

2012 – Mark Schusterman – Gulliver Prep, Florida

2011 – Debbie Holcombe - Byrnes HS, South Carolina

2010 -  Robert Iamurri - Naples HS, Florida

2009 – Larry Niemeyer - Jefferson HS, Iowa

2008 – Wally Hausdorf - William Cullen HS, New York

2007 – Tony Scarbrough - Baker HS, Alabama

2006 – Jeff Griffith - Cactus HS, Arizona

2005 – James McClanahan - Fort Bend Elkins HS, Texas

2004 – Sammy Dunn -Vestavia Hills HS, Alabama

2003 – Glen Rutenbar - Bartow HS, Florida

2002 – Gary Adams - Crescent HS, South Carolina

2001 – Dwayne Ross – Weatherford HS, Texas

2000 – Shelly Bollin - Brazoswood HS, Texas



more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal