Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Ryan Hoffer is named the 2017 NHSCA Boys’ Swimming Athlete of the Year.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Ryan Hoffer of Chaparral High School in Scottsdale, Arizona as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Boys’ Swimming Athlete of the Year.


Hoffer closed-out his high school career by helping his school win Arizona’s Division II swimming and diving championship. Hoffer won state gold in the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard butterfly.  He won both events by setting a new state record. His time in the 50-yard freestyle is believed to be the second fast all-time at the high school level.


Hoffer, who will attend the University of California at Berkeley in the fall, is the No. 1 swimmer in the Class of 2017, according to Hoffer is a member of the USA Swimming Junior National Team.


In December 2015, Hoffer set a national age-group (17) record in the 100-yard freestyle at 41.23, becoming only the second swimmer under 18 to break 42 seconds.


“Ryan is an excellent example what this honor is about,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Ryan has excelled in the pool and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him the best of luck at Berkeley.”


Hoffer is the second swimmer from Arizona to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Athlete of the Year Award. Brophy Prep’s Alex Righi won the award in 2005.


This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Swimming Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Michael Jensen – Upper Dublin HS - Pennsylvania

2015 – Andrew Seliskar – Thomas Jefferson HS - Virginia

2014 – Jonathan Roberts – Southlake Carroll HS, Texas

2013 – Austin Garcia – San Dimas HS - California

2012 – Matias Koski – Northview HS - Georgia

2011 – David Nolan – Hershey HS, Pennsylvania

2010 – Kyle Whitaker – Chesterton HS, Indiana

2009 – Cole Cragin – Friendswood HS, Texas

2008 – Brian Alden – Neuqua Valley HS, Illinois

2007 – Austin Staab – Westerville HS, Ohio

2006 – Shaune Fraser – The Bolles School, Florida

2005 – Alex Righi – Brophy Prep, Arizona

2004 – Kyle Bubolz – Waukesha North HS, Wisconsin

2003 – Garrett Weber-Gale – Nicolet HS, Wisconsin

2002 – Tyler DeBerry – Sabino HS, Arizona

2001 – Matt McDonald – Hamilton Southeastern HS, Indiana

2000 – Alex Lim – The Bolles School, Florida

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal