Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Dallastown's Rich Howley named 2017 NHSCA Boys' Swimming Coach of the Year

Monday, May 15, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Rich Howley, head coach at Dallastown High School in Dallastown, Pennsylvania as the 2017 National High School Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.


Howley, who retired at the end of the 2016-17 season, coached the boys and girls swimming programs for three decades at Dallastown. Under his reign, the Wildcats won 50 York-Adams League titles — 25 by the boys and 25 by the girls — and a girls' District 3 championship. He also coached six swimmers to individual state gold medals with 40 district champions and more than 100 All-Americans. Image result for rich howley dallastown


"I want my legacy to be what I built in children in terms of their character," said Howley after his retirement. "That's what I've always wanted. From myself and my staff."


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Howley as National Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “It’s a pleasure to honor Coach Howley who has dedicated his life to the student-athletes at Dallastown.  His commitment to excellence for his student-athletes in-and-out of the pool makes him an great choice for this honor at the end of an incredible career.”


Photo Credits: York Dispatch


Howley is the first coach from Pennsylvania to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year Award.


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coaches of the Year

2016 – Mark Moorehouse – Fossil Ridge HS, Colorado

2015 – Larry Rogers - Bellarmine Prep, California

2014 – Joe Pereira – Skyline HS, Utah

2013 – Kevin Kinel – Chesterton HS, Indiana

2012 – Dave Hanson – Bishop Hendricken HS, Rhode Island

2011 – Art Downey – Edina HS, Minnesota

2010 – Mel Roberts – Tooele HS, Utah

2009 – Mike Torrey – Zeeland West HS, Michigan

2008 – Marty O’Toole – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2007 – John Turner – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2006 – Brian Metheny – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Mark Onstott – New Trier HS, Illinios

2004 – Jim Brower – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2003 – Virginia Weber – Moorestown HS, New Jersey 

2002 – Dr. Rick Creed – Parkview HS, Georgia

2001 – Dave Coffman – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2000 – Larry Shofe – The Bolles School, Florida

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal