Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Sacred Heart Academy’s Brooke Forde named Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year

Thursday, May 11, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is pleased to announce Brooke Forde of Sacred Heart Academy in Louisville, Kentucky as the 2017 NHSCA National High School Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year. 


Forde closed-out her scholastic career with two individual state gold medals, giving her five for her scholastic career. Forde, who will attend Stanford University, captured state titles in the 200-and-500 freestyle events, setting new records in the process.  She also was part of two gold medal winning relay teams at the Kentucky state championships.


Forde is a member of the USA Swimming Junior National Tam.  She won a gold medal at the Junior Pan-Pacs as a member of the 800-meter freestyle relay team.


“Brooke is an student athlete who has excelled in both the pool and the classroom, which is what his honor stands for” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her the best of luck at Stanford.”


Forde is the first swimmer from Kentucky to be honored as the NHSCA National Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year.


This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.

Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year:

2016 – Beata Nelson – Vernona/Mount Horeb HS - Wisconsin

2015 – Katie Ledecky - Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Maryland

2014 – Janet Hu – Oakton HS, Virginia

2013 – Missy Franklin – Regis Jesuit HS, Colorado

2012 – Bonnie Brandon – Cherry Creek HS, Colorado

2011 – Gretchen Jaques – Glendora HS, California

2010 – Emily Bos – Holland HS, Michigan

2009 – Mary Beck - Westlake HS, Texas

2008 – Michelle McKeehan – Center Grove HS, Indiana

2007 – Lauren English – Montville Twp. HS, New Jersey

2006 – Alexandra Clarke – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Hannah Smith – Dexter HS, Michigan

2004 – Rhiannon Jeffrey – Atlantic HS, Florida

2003 – Kara Lynn Joyce – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2002 – Mary Descenza – Rosary HS, Illinois

2001 – Kaitlin Sandeno – El Toro HS, California

2000 – Sara McLarty – Deland HS, Florida

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal