Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Tyrone Slaughter, of Whitney Young High School is 2017 NHSCA Boys' Basketball Coach of the Year

Friday, May 5, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Tyrone Slaughter, head coach at Whitney Young High School in Chicago, Illinois as its National High School Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year.


This past season, Slaughter led Whitney Young to the Illinois Class 4A state championship, finishing No. 25 in the nation in the USA TODAY Super 25.  It was the third time the Dolphins had won a state title under Slaughter, who said after the game, “Everyone on this roster is a star. Everybody on this roster does something that makes our team good.”


Coach Slaughter is known for playing one of the toughest games in the country year-in and year-out.  This year, aside from its roughed Chicago Public League schedule, Whitney Young played teams from six different states.


Slaughter’s lifetime record is 262-96 with 33 young men gaining college scholarships under his coaching.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Slaughter as National Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Slaughter has amassed an incredible record with three Illinois state champs as a head coach. His commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the court makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year:

2016 – Sharman White – Miller Grove HS, Georgia

2015 – Melvin Randall – Blanche Ely HS , Florida

2014 – Gary McKight – Mater Dei HS, California

2013 – Tony Harper – Montwood HS, Texas

2012 – Douglas Lipscomb – Wheeler HS, Georgia

2011 – Vito Montelli – St. Joseph HS, Connecticut

2010 -  Harvey Kitani – Fairfax HS, California

2009 -  Jack Curran – Archbishop Molloy, New York

2008 – Dick Katte – Denver Christian HS, Colorado

2007 – Bob Hurley, Sr. – St. Anthony HS, New Jersey

2006 – Jack Keefer, Lawrence North HS, Indiana

2005 – Robert Hughes, Dunbar HS, Texas

2004 – Charles Smith, Peabody Magnet HS, Louisiana

2003 – Dave Garvin, Philomath HS, Oregon

2002 – Jack Butcher, Loogootee HS, Indiana

2001 – Bob Williams, Schaumburg HS, Illinois

2000 – Russell Otis, Dominguez HS, California


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal