Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

New Jersey's Stephan Glasgow named the 2016-2017NHSCA Wrestler of the Year

Thursday, April 27, 2017  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is pleased to announce Stephan Glasgow of Bound Brook High School in New Jersey as the 2016-2017 National High School Wrestler of the Year.Image result for stephan glasgow

Glasgow was named the Outstanding Wrestler at the 2017 NHSCA Senior Nationals at the end of March with an impressive 24-9 technical fall in the finals. Glasgow was the Runner Up at both the NHSCA Junior and Sophomore Nationals. He also won the Freshman Nationals in 2014. 

Glasgow finished his high school career by winning his second New Jersey state individual championship. He defeated two-time defending state champ Shane Griffith of Bergen Catholic 3-2 with a takedown with 25 seconds to go in the match. He is a three time NJ State Finalist. Glasgow finished the year with a solid 36-1 record and a career record of 128-8. He is ranked No. 4 by InterMat at 152 pounds.

Glasgow will be staying in state and attending Rutgers University in the fall.


Photo Credits: Asbury Park Press


“Stephan is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “He has excelled on the mat and in the classroom. We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and two NHSCA national titles and wish him the best luck as a Scarlet Knight.”

Glasgow is the fifth New Jersey wrestler to win the NHSCA’s Senior Athlete of the Year Award. Other Garden State wrestlers who have been awarded this honor are 4X NHSCA champ B.J. Clagon of Toms River South HS in 2013, Mark Grey of Blair Academy in 2012, Mark Perry of Blair Academy in 2003 and another Blair Academy alumni, Steven Mocco in 2001.

This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. Other honorees will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy. They will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be built in the near future.

Past honorees of the NHSCA Wrestler of the Year include:
2016 – Kanen Storr, Leslie HS, Michigan
2015 – Austin Myers – Campbell County HS, Kentucky
2014 – Ryan Millhof – Collins Hill HS, Georgia
2013 – B.J. Clagon – Toms River South HS, New Jersey
2012 – Mark Grey – Blair Academy, New Jersey
2011 – Blake Roulo – Matoaca HS, Virginia
2010 – Tyler Beckwith – Greene HS, New York
2009 – C.J. Napier – Columbus HS, Kansas
2008 – Jordan Oliver – Easton HS, Pennsylvania
2007 – Colt Sponseller – West Holmes HS, Ohio
2006 – Adam Hall – Bonners Ferry HS, Idaho
2005 – Dustin Schlatter – Perry HS, Ohio
2004 – J. Jaggers – St. Pete Chanel HS, Ohio
2003 – Mark Perry – Blair Academy, New Jersey
2002 – Nathan Galloway – State College HS, Pennsylvania
2001 – Steve Mocco – Blair Academy, New Jersey
2000 – Jesse Jantzen – Shoreham-Wading River HS, New York

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal