Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Westminster Schools’ (Georgia) Amy Eubanks named NHSCA’s 2017 Girls’ Cross Country Coach of the Year

Friday, February 3, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

Easton, PA – February 2, 2017 - The National High School Coaches Association , NHSCA, is proud to announce Amy Eubanks, head coach at the Westminster Schools in Atlanta, Georgia as its 2017 Girls’ Cross Country Coach of the Year.


Amy Eubanks has been the school’s head coach since 1991.  The Westminster Schools won the 2016 Georgia AAA state championship, which was the 21st state championship under Eubanks’ guidance.  In 2014, she was named Georgia State Coach of the Year by the NFHS.  She was the GACA State Coach of the Year from 1992 through 2004.  In 1997, Eubanks was the co-high school Coach of the Year for all sports given by the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame. 


“We are extremely pleased to name Amy as the Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Eubanks has amassed an incredible record of 21 state championships in her 26 years as a head coach, that coupled with her commitment to excellence for her student-athletes makes her an excellent choice for our National Girls’ Cross Country Coach of the Year.”


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Past NHSCA National Girls’ Cross County Coaches of the Year

2016 – Mike Smith – Saline HS, Michigan

2015 – Bill Aris – Fayetteville Manlius, New York

2014 – Dave Emmans – Wayzata HS, Minnesota

2013 – Jeff Devantier – Birmingham Seaholm High School, Michigan

2012 – Patrick Castagno – The Tatnall School, Delaware

2011 – Jim Tracy – University HS, California

2010 – Darrell Burmeister – Nodaway Valley HS - Iowa

2009 – Catherine Lempesis – Dutch Fork HS, South Carolina

2008 – Jerry Popp – Willmar HS, Minnesota

2007 – Robert Ondrasek, Southlake Carroll HS, Texas

2006 – Mark Logan -RHAM Regional, Connecticut

2005 – Mike Woolsey – Lumen Christi HS, Michigan

2004 – Art & Linda Kranick – Saratoga Springs HS, New York

2003 – Michael Bauer – Regis HS, Oregon

2002 – Jeff Arbogast – Bingham HS, Utah

2001 – George Varvas – Woodbridge HS, California

2000 – Steve Telaneus – Marcus HS, Texas


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal