Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Mater Dei High School’s Bruce Rollinson name National Football Coach of the Year

Tuesday, January 24, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


Easton, PA – January 24, 2017

Rollinson, who has been Mater Dei’s head coach since 1989, owns a record of 272-33-2.  Last season Rollinson led his school to a 13-1 record and was ranked No. 14 in the national in the High School Football America/NHSCA National High School Football Rankings.


Since taking-over the reigns of the football program at his alma mater, Rollinson has directed the Monarchs to 11 CIF-Southern Section championship games, winning five titles.  In the mid-90’s, two of Rollinson’s teams were named national champions by USA TODAY. 


Among the top players he has coached are quarterbacks Matt Barkley and Matt Leinart, both of whom went to USC.  Rollinson’s current quarterback, sophomore J.T. Daniels, has already thrown 100 touchdowns in his career, which gives him the most in Orange County history with two more years to go.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Rollinson,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Bruce has established Mater Dei as one of the best programs in the nation during his nearly three decades as the school’s head coach.  He exhibits a strong dedication of support and the development to high school student-athletes.”


“Coach Rollinson’s record at Mater Dei speaks for itself,” said Jeff Fisher, head of the NHSCA Coach of the Year Nominating Committee and founder of High School Football America.  “Even though he’s closing-in on nearly 30 years as a head coach at Mater Dei, he’s still able to inspire his players to believe in themselves while working within the principles and standards he’s set-up over the last 28 years as the Monarchs’ head coach.”


Rollinson is the second California high school football coach to receive the honor.  De La Salle’s Bob Ladouceur, the NHSCA’s only two-time winner, won the National Football Coach of the Year award in 2001 and 2004.


Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful throphy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the future.


Rollinson will be a featured guest on Thursday night's NHSCA Sports Hour and High School Football America Radio Shows to talk about being honored by the NHSCA.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year.


2016 – Gary Joseph, Katy, Texas

2015 – Roland Smith, Miami Central, Florida

2014 ­– Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal