Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Northwestern High School 's (FL) Carmen Jackson named Girls' Track & Field Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 8, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud toCarmen Jackson, head coach at Northwestern High School in Miami, Florida as its National High School Girls’ Track and Field Coach of the Year.

This past season, Coach Jackson led the Lady Bulls to a state-record eighth straight state championship. In nearly a quarter-of-century as Northwestern’s coach, Jackson has led the school to eleven track and field state titles.


Photo Credits:

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Jackson,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Jackson has built Northwestern into one of the best high school track and field programs in Florida and in the nation. She’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.” 

Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Girls’ Track and Field Coach of the Year.

2015 Jim Ciccarello, La Cueva HS, New Mexico
2014 – Don Norford, Long Beach Poly, California
2013 – June Villers – DeSoto HS, Texas
2012 – David Turnbull – Summit HS, Oregon
2011 – Susan Curnias – William H. Hall HS, Connecticut
2010 – Jim Tate – St. Paul’s Episcopal School, Alabama
2009 – Bill Stamper – Oak Ridge HS, Florida
2008 – Bryan Westfield – Pioneer HS, Michigan
2007 – James Holdren – Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, Virginia
2006 – Ed Bowie – Central HS, Maryland
2005 – Dan Kulper – Valley Christian HS, Arizona
2004 – Leon McKenzie – Benson Polytechnic HS, Oregon
2003 – Bryan Westfield – Pioneer HS, Michigan
2002 – Ted Knudson – Northrop HS, Indiana
2001 – Neal Morris – T.W. Andrews HS, North Carolina
2000 – Larry Colbert – Eleanor Roosevelt HS, Maryland

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal