Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

New Mexico's Margaret Stanley named NHSCA Girls' Golf Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 8, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |
The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to Margaret Stanley, head coach at Socorro High School in Socorro, New Mexico as its National High School Girls’ Golf Coach of the Year.

Coach Stanley has led the Socorro girls’ golf team to eight New Mexico team state championships in the last twelve season, including the 2015 Class AAAA-A title. She played on the Socorro High golf team in the 80’s that was coached by her father Dennis Stanley, who led the school to four straight state titles. Coach Stanley’s teams have won over 95% of matches during her time as head coach.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Stanley” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Stanley has built Socorro into one of the best high school golf programs in New Mexico. She’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”

Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Girls’ Golf Coach of the Year.

2015 – Leslie Bender – Sacred Heart Academy, Kentucky
2014 – Dave Gianferante – Notre Dame Academy, Massachusetts
2013 – Jodi Schoeck – Barrington HS, Illinois
2012 – Karen Gravley – Allen HS, Texas
2011 – Ryan Best – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Kansas
2010 – Kathy Berglund - Hazen HS, North Dakota
2009 – Ken Van Den Boom – Caledonia HS, Minnesota
2008 – Carol Fromuth – St. Joseph’s Academy, Missouri
2007 – Dr. H. King Oehmig – The Baylor School, Tennessee
2006 – Jim Garrett – Penn HS, Indiana
2005 – Sister Lynn Winsor – Xavier College Prep, Arizona
2004 – Grayson Fitzhugh – Mount Notre Dame, Ohio
2003 – Mary Flande – Sisters HS, Oregon
2002 - Dewey Stendahl – Middleton HS, Wisconsin
2001 – Sharon Most – Martinsville HS, Indiana
2000 – Donna Pierce – Highland Park HS, Texas

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal