Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Indiana's Jean Kesterson named NHSCA Volleyball Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 8, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Jean Kesterson, head coach at Cathedral High School in Indianapolis, Indiana as its National High School Volleyball Coach of the Year.

Jean Kesterson
Coach Kesterson, who owns 843 career victories, led Cathedral to Indiana’s 4A state title, plus was named the #1 team in the nation by MaxPreps. Cathedral finished a perfect 36-0, which marks the first-time that a 4A school had a perfect season in Indiana volleyball history. In the spring of 2015, Kesterson, who also teaches PE and Business at the school, underwent emergency open heart surgery to replace a heart valve and repair her aortic arch.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Kesterson,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Kesterson has done an outstanding job of building a program that year-in and year-out is among the top in Indiana. She exhibits a dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”
Photo Credits: Cathedral High School

Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Volleyball Coach of the Year.

2015 – Susan Odenbaugh, Lewis-Palmer, Colorado
2014 – Rick Lorenz, Portland Central Catholic, Oregon
2013 – Jack Magelssen – Denton Kellogg School, Michigan
2012 – Tom Turco – Barnstable HS, Massachusetts
2011 – Fred Rakers - Mater Dei HS, Illinois
2010 – Laurie LaRusso – Darien HS, Connecticut
2009 - Jan Stanley – West Henderson HS , North Carolina
2008 – Peg Kopec – St. Francis HS, Illinois
2007 – Steve Shondell - Burris Laboratory, Indiana
2006 – Louise Crocco – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida
2005 – Brenda LeBlanc – St. Joseph’s Academy, Louisiana
2004 – Lee Grisham – Wimberley HS, Texas
2003 – Arnie Meyer – Ursuline Academy, Ohio
2002 – Jan Barker – Amarillo HS, Texas
2001 – John Knuth – Marysville HS, Michigan
2000 – Larry Trupe – Torrey Pines, California

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal