Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Florida's Buchholz High School’s Tina Bates National Girls’ Swimming Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 8, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |
The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Tina Bates, head coach at Buchholz High School in Gainesville, Florida as its National High School Girls’ Swimming Coach of the Year.

In just her second year as the Buchholz High’s head coach, Bates, a former swimmer at the University of Florida, led the school to the Florida 4A state championship. It was the school’s sixth overall title and first since 2009. Expect Bates and Buchholz to be one of the best in the state over the next several years in Florida, with many of this year’s swimmers being underclassmen.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Bates,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “In a very short period of time, Coach Bates has built Buchholz into one of the best high school swimming programs in Florida. She exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”

Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Girls’ Swimming Coach of the Year.

2015 – Chris Plumb – Carmel HS, Indiana
2014 – Rich & Ron Blanc – Santa Margarita Catholic HS, California
2013 – Nick Frasersmith – Regis Jesuit, Colorado
2012 – Bruce Woodbury – New Trier HS, Illinois
2011 – Brian Gross – Charlotte Catholic HS, North Carolina
2010 – Marty Keating – Pittsford Central HS, New York
2009 – Kent Kirchner – The Woodlands, Texas
2008 – Pete Higgins – The Westminster Schools, Georgia
2007 – Jean Chard – Lafayette HS, Missouri
2006 – John Casadia – Vineland HS, New Jersey
2005 – Andy Pedersen – Hamilton Southeastern HS, Indiana
2004 – Jeff Poppell – The Bolles School, Florida
2003 – Denny Hill – Pioneer HS, Michigan
2002 – Tim Beerman – Ursuline Academy, Ohio
2001 – Ken Stopkotte – Carmel HS, Indiana
2000 – Sandy Martin – Providence HS, North Carolina

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal