Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Fossil Ridge High School, Mark Morehouse as the NHSCA Boys’ Swimming Coach

Monday, May 23, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

Easton, PA – May 23, 2016 - The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Mark Morehouse, head coach at Fossil Ridge High School in Fort Collins, Colorado as its National High School Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.



Morehouse, who has been the head coach of the Fossil Ridge boys program since 2008 and assistant girls’ coach since 2010, led his school to its second straight Colorado 5A state championship during the 2015-2016 season.  This year’s team had one individual state champ and dominated the state team championships with 331.5 points. The SaberCats placed among the top four in nine events



Mark Morehouse
Photo Credits: The Coloradoan


We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Morehouse,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Morehouse has established Fossil Ridge as one of the best high school swimming programs in Colorado and in America.  He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.


2015 – Larry Rogers, Bellarmine Prep, California

2014 – Joe Pereira – Skyline HS, Utah

2013 – Kevin Kinel – Chesterton HS, Indiana

2012 – Dave Hanson – Bishop Hendricken HS, Rhode Island

2011 – Art Downey – Edina HS, Minnesota

2010 – Mel Roberts – Tooele HS, Utah

2009 – Mike Torrey – Zeeland West HS, Michigan

2008 – Marty O’Toole – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2007 – John Turner – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2006 – Brian Metheny – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Mark Onstott – New Trier HS, Illinios

2004 – Jim Brower – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2003 – Virginia Weber – Moorestown HS, New Jersey 

2002 – Dr. Rick Creed – Parkview HS, Georgia

2001 – Dave Coffman – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2000 – Larry Shofe – The Bolles School, Florida


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal