Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Air Academy's Katie Rainsberger named Girls’ Cross Country Athete of the Year

Monday, April 18, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

Easton, PA – April 18, 2016 - The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Katie Rainsberger of Air Academy High School in Colorado Springs, Colorado as its Girls’ Cross Country Athlete of the Year.


Katie won the 2015 national title at the Nike Cross Nationals Final in 2015, which capped an undefeated senior season for her.  In addition, Rainsberger was the Colorado 4A individual champ and led her team to a state team title.  She carries a weighted 4.49 GPA in the classroom and will attend the University of Oregon.


“We are extremely pleased to have Katie as this year’s honoree in girls’ cross country,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Katie and the 20 young men and women we will be honoring throughout the 2015-16 school year represent the thousands of success stories produced in high school athletics. They have worked extremely hard to develop their skills and have become not just great athletes, but outstanding role models as well, and we are proud to be honoring them.”


Photo Credits: John Leyba, The Denver Post


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Senior National Athletes of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its Athlete of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Cross Country Athlete of the Year:


2015 – Anna Rohrer, Mishawaka HS, Indiana

2014 – Tessa Barrett, Abington Heights HS, Pennsylvania

2013 – Catarina Rocha – Peabody HS, Massachusetts

2012 – Molly Seidel – University Lake School, Wisconsin

2011 – Aisling Cuffe – Corwall Central HS, New York

2010 – Megan Goethals – Rochester HS, Michigan

2009 – Jordan Hasay – Mission Prep, California

2008 -  Christine Babcock – Woodbridge HS, California

2007 – Marie Lawrence – Reno HS, Nevada

2006 – Aislinn Ryan, Warwick Valley HS, New York

2005 – Ramsey Kavan – Yankton HS, South Dakota

2004 – Sunni Olding – Minster HS, Ohio

2003 – Amber Harper – Orem HS, Utah

2002 -  Amber Trotter – Ukiah HS, California

2001 – Sara Bei – Montgomery HS, California

2000 – Victoria Chang – Punahou School, Hawaii

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal