Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Mike Smith, Head Coach at Saline High School (MI) named Girls’ Cross County NHSCA Coach of the Year

Thursday, March 10, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce, Mike Smith, head coach at Saline High School in Saline, Michigan as its National High School Girls’ Cross Country Coach of the Year.


Smith, who retired at the end of the 2015 season, led the Lady Hornets to their 20th straight conference title this past season and its 14th straight regional championship.  Saline and Smith won Michigan’s Division I state championship 2009.

Smith, who began coaching at Saline in 1977, is a member of the Michigan Interscholastic Track Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Smith,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Smith has established Saline as one of the best cross country programs in Michigan.  He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


Photo Credit: Saline Post


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Girls’ Cross County Coach of the Year.


2016 – Mike Smith – Saline HS, Michigan

2015 – Bill Aris – Fayetteville Manlius, New York

2014 – Dave Emmans – Wayzata HS, Minnesota

2013 – Jeff Devantier – Birmingham Seaholm High School, Michigan

2012 – Patrick Castagno – The Tatnall School, Delaware

2011 – Jim Tracy – University HS, California

2010 – Darrell Burmeister – Nodaway Valley HS - Iowa

2009 – Catherine Lempesis – Dutch Fork HS, South Carolina

2008 -  Jerry Popp – Willmar HS, Minnesota

2007 – Robert Ondrasek, Southlake Carroll HS, Texas

2006 – Mark Logan -RHAM Regional, Connecticut

2005 – Mike Woolsey – Lumen Christi HS, Michigan

2004 – Art & Linda Kranick – Saratoga Springs HS, New York

2003 – Michael Bauer – Regis HS, Oregon

2002 -  Jeff Arbogast – Bingham HS, Utah

2001 – George Varvas – Woodbridge HS, California

2000 – Steve Telaneus – Marcus HS, Texas






more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal