Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Lower Dauphin High School’s Linda Kreiser named National Field Hockey Coach of the Year

Monday, March 7, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The NHSCA, National High School Coaches Association, is proud to announce Linda Kreiser, head coach at Lower Dauphin High School in Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, as its National High School Field Hockey Coach of the Year.


Kreiser has had an incredible career with a lifetime record of 738-104-35 with six state titles in 1993, 1998, 2006, 2009, 2012 and 2013.  She began her coaching career at her alma mater in 1978.


Kreiser has been inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches’ Hall of Fame, the USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame and into the Millersville University Athletics Hall of Fame


Not only is Kreiser a great coach, she was also an excellent player.  She played on Team USA from 1972 through 1979 and participated in the 1975 World Cup.                             

Photo Credits:


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Kreiser,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “She has established Lower Dauphin as one of the best field hockey programs in the highly competitive State of Pennsylvania.  She’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Kreiser will appear on Thursday night's NHSCA Sports Hour Radio Show at 6 pm EST. You can listen to the show - click here!


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Field Hockey Coach of the Year.


2016 – Linda Kreiser – Lower Dauphin HS, Pennsylvania

2015 – Laurie Kerr – Warren Hills HS, New Jersey

2014 – Tara Worley – Lakeland HS, Virginia

2013 - Eileen Donahue – Watertown HS, Massachusetts

2012 – Lillian “Lil” Shelton – Severna Park HS, Maryland

2011 – Wendy Wilson – Tabb HS, Virginia

2010 – Danyle Heilig – Eastern Regional HS, New Jersey

2009 – Karen Klassner – Wyoming Seminary, Pennsylvania

2008 -  Robin Chandler – The Hotchkiss School, Connecticut

2007 -  Sue Butz-Stavin – Emmaus HS – Pennsylvania

2006 -  Diane Chapman – Garden City HS – New York

2005 – Amy Longley – Hathaway Brown School, Ohio

2004 – Paul Doughty – Skowhegan HS, Maine

2003 – Debby Watson – Villa Duchesne HS, Missouri

2002 -  Diana Walker – Sanford HS, Maine

2001 – Bob Derr – Lititz HS, Pennsylvania

2000 -  Linda Nixon – Springfield Twp. HS, Pennsylvania

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal