Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

St. John Bosco's Sean McGrew is the 2016 NHSCA Football Athlete of the Year

Tuesday, February 16, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


February 15, 2016 – Easton, PA - The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Sean McGrew of St. John Bosco High School in Bellflower, California as the winner of 2015-16 NHSCA National High School Senior Football Player of the Year Award.


McGrew finished his career with 5,762 yards with a 9.1 yards per carry average, plus he helped his school to a record-setting 21-game league win streak with three consecutive Trinity League titles.  The Trinity League is considered one of the best high school football leagues in America.


"Sean is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  "Sean has excelled on the field and off, plus he is an active in volunteering in his community.


Photo Credits: Max Preps

"Sean McGrew is easily one of the most impressive student-athletes that I have encountered during my career as a high school football coach,” said St. John Bosco head football coach Jason Negro. "He is the most complete and competitive football player in our highly successful program. Sean has excelled brilliantly over the past four seasons playing one of the most difficult schedules in high school football.”


Not only does McGrew, who will attend the University of Washington on a football scholarship, leave St. John Bosco unbeaten as a Trinity League performer, but he also left the field with twelve school records.  He was named All-Trinity League as a sophomore, junior and senior.


McGrew is the third winner of the National Senior Football Player of the Year Award from California.


This the 16th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2015-2016 school year.


Each one of the honorees will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is building.



Past Winner of the NHSCA National Senior Football Player of the Year Award

2015 – Kyler Murray – Allen HS, Texas

2014 – Leonard Fournette – St. Augustine HS, Louisiana

2013-  Derrick Henry – Yulee HS, Florida

2012 – Jonathan Gray – Aledo HS, Texas

2011 – Johnny Manziel – Tivy HS, Texas

2010 – Seantrel Henderson – Cretin-Derham Hall, Minnesota

2009 – Garrett Gilbert – Lake Travis HS, Texas

2008 – Terrell Pryor – Jeannette HS, Pennsylvania

2007 – John Brantley – Trinity Catholic HS, Florida

2006 – John Dergo – Morris HS, Illinois

2005 – Greg Paulus – Christian Brothers Academy, New York

2004 – Jeff Byers – Loveland HS, Colorado

2003 – Austin Scott – Parkland HS, Pennsylvania

2002 – Lorenzo Booker – St. Bonaventure HS, California

2001 – Tyler Bell – Ventura HS, California

2000 – David Beck – Lockport HS, New York

Media Contact for interview requests:

Jeff Fisher






more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal