Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Texas' Katy High School’s Gary Joseph is the 2016 National Football Coach of the Year

Thursday, February 4, 2016  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

Gary Joseph, Head Coach at Katy High School in Texas, is named 2016 NHSCA Coach of the Year.


Easton, PA – February 3, 2016 - The National High School Coaches Association ("NHSCA”) is proud to announce Gary Joseph, head coach at Katy High School in Katy, Texas, as its National High School Football Coach of the Year.


This past season, Coach Joseph led Katy to a perfect 16-0 record, winning the Texas’ Class 6A Division II title, which was the school’s fourth state title under Joseph, who has been the Tigers head coach since 2004.  The Tigers finished #3 in the High School Football America/NHSCA National Top 25 and were named "mythical” national champs by, and


Joseph, who has taken his school to eight overall Texas state championship games, began as an assistant with Katy more than 30 years ago and currently owns a lifetime record is 168-14.  He’s led Katy to eleven district titles in twelve years as head coach and the Tigers haven’t lost a district game since 2008.


"We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Joseph,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. "Coach Joseph’s has established Katy as one of the best programs in the highly competitive State of Texas.  He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”


"Katy’s record under Coach Joseph speaks for itself, but it’s only part of the story when it comes to his selection as NHSCA National Football Coach of the Year,” said Jeff Fisher, head of the NHSCA Coach of the Year Nominating Committee and founder of High School Football America.  "Coach Joseph has made it his life’s work to make sure that his student-athletes excel on-and-off the field.”


Throughout 2016, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 17th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of these honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.


Following are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year.


2015 – Roland Smith, Miami Central, Florida

2014 ­– Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles "Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania


Media Contact for interview requests:

Jeff Fisher






more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal