Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Register today for the 25th Annual NHSCA High School National Wrestling Championships!

Monday, January 20, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |

The 25th Annual NHSCA National High School Wrestling Championships are schedule for March 28-30, 2014 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.

Last year’s event saw a record number of entries with 2,704 over the five divisions.

The Senior division had 552 participants for the 24th annual event. There were 322 state champions, including: 7 4x champions, 27 3x champions, 40 2x champions, and 122 1x state champions. The event also featured 446 state place winners. Bryant ‘BJ’ Clagon of Toms River, New Jersey, made history by winning his 4th NHSCA National title at the 145 pound weight class.

The Senior finals were a star-spangled event with 18 states represented in the 14 weight classes. NHSCA Senior Nationals Championships included: 4X Missouri State ChampionJ’den Cox who won his second straight NHSCA title, 4x Nevada State Champion Joey LaVallee, Tommy Aloi (VA), Zachary Damico (OK), Deshun Brown (NM), TJ Fabian (NY), Javier Gasca (CA), Mark Marchetti (TN), Kyle Perreault (CA), Parker Von Egidy (NC), Glen Brooks Climmons (GA), Garet Krohn (CO), and Will Geary (KS).

The 2013 NHSCA Junior National Championships boasted it’s high number of entries in the event’s existence. There were 743 Entries; 205 State Champions featuring 15 3x State Champions, 30 2x State Champions, 100 1x State Champions, and 424 State Place Winners.

The Junior finals were a star studded event featuring 18 states in the 14 weight classes, including Georgia was went 3 for 3. NHSCA Junior National Champions included: Radley Gillis (FL), Sean Russell (GA), Ryan Milhof (GA), Brock Ervin (KY), Clay Walker (SC), Renaldo Rodriguez-Spencer (NY), Casey Sparkman (OH), Corey Rasheed (NY), Tony Dailey (OH), Will Schany (NE), Ian Baker (CA), Chance McClure (GA), Connor Tolley (IN), and Harrison Phillips (NE).

Highlights include Georgia’s own Ryan Milhof winning his 3rd NHSCA title with an impressive 9-3 win in the finals over Cameron Timok of Virginia. At 145, Renaldo Rodriguez-Spencer (NY) added some high flying action when he hit a flying squirrel in the last seconds of the match to defect Alfred Bannister (MD).

The Sophomore division had record numbers of entries as well with 658. There were 27 2x State Champions and 52 1x State Champions, as well as 251 Place winners. Tevis Bartlett (Wyoming), Ken Brinson (Georgia) and Gage Cervenka (South Carolina) are now two-time National High School Coaches Association national wrestling champs after winning their respective weight class at the Sophomore National

The 2013 Sophomore Champions showcased champions from 12 states: Jose Rodriguez (OH), Jordan Allen (WV), Cameron Sykora (MN), Jaydin Clayton (MO), Zach Hertling (NJ), Neal Richards (VA), Corbin Allen (VA), Cody Hughes (ME), Ben Schram (OH), Hunter Ritter (MD), Tevis Bartlett (WY), Kenneth Brinson (GA), Austin Myers (KY), and Gage Cervenka (SC). The 2013 finalists hailed from 18 different states.

The 2013 Freshman Nationals saw an increase in entries as well. Freshman division had 504 entries with 34 State Champions. There were 143 State Placers as well.

Leading the way was Tyler Warner of Claymont High School in Ohio, who followed-up his state championship by taking the gold medal at 106-pounds. Warner pinned Jose Tapia of New Mexico in the finals. Warner was one six state champs from the 2012-13 high school season that captured NHSCA gold medals. The other 2012-13 state champs that mined gold in Virginia Beach are: Kyle Norstrem of nationally-ranked Brandon High School in Florida; Jarrett Degan of Belgrade High in Montana; Kevin Budock of Good Counsel in Maryland; and brothers Daniel and Thomas Bullard of Archer High School in Georgia.

The 2013 Freshman National finalists came from 13 states. This year’s event had Champions from 8 states including: Tyler Warner (OH), Kyle Norstrem (FL), Jarrett Degen (MT), Kevin Budock (MD), Christopher Mauriello (NY), Daniel Bullard (GA), Thomas Bullard (GA), Jordan Torbitt (NY), Brandon Dallavia (NJ), Nick Svarda (OH), Drew Phipps (PA), Matthew Correnti (NJ), Kordell Chaney (OH), AND Jake Beistel (PA).

The 2013 Middle School division had over 275 entries. With two individual champs and one runner-up finish, New York won the team championship at the 6th annual Middle School Nationals. Middle School finalists hailed from 15 states and saw Champions from 9 states:

Tanner Jordan (OH), Izzak Olejnik (CA), Navonte Demison (CA), Tuck Brough (PA), Daniel Planta (MD), J.J. Figueroa (CA), Jimmy Hoffman (PA), Quinn Deaney (MD), Mack Berkowitz (NY), Matthew Ceparano (NC), Avery Dinardi (NJ), Travis Race (NY), Nicolas Mosco (FL), Eric Chakonis (NJ).

Registration for the 25th Annual NHSCA High School National Wrestling Championships is now open! Registration will close Monday, March 24, 2014. Don’t miss your opportunity to be at the top of the podium on March 30th! Click here for the 2014 Event Pages.

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal