Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Texas' Bobby Witt, Jr. named 2019 Senior Baseball Athlete of the Year

Thursday, May 16, 2019  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is pleased to announce Bobby Witt, Jr. of Colleyville Heritage High School in Colleyville, Texas as its National Senior Baseball Athlete of the Year.


Witt, who is the son of former Major League Baseball pitcher Bobby Witt, is expected to be picked highly in June’s MLB Amateur Draft. Some Mock Drafts project the shortstop to be the first overall pick.


Considered a five-tool athlete, Witt has led his school to a district championship this season and is hoping to help his team to its first-ever state tournament berth. Through 32 games this year, Witt was hitting .512 with 14 homers and 44 runs batted in. As a junior, Witt hit .476 with ten home runs.


Witt is one of only two high school players to be on USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award midseason watch list. The award is given to the country’s top amateur baseball player.


“Bobby is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “He has excelled as much in the classroom as he has on the field. We congratulate Bobby on an outstanding high school career and wish him success as he chases his goal of being in the MLB.”


Witt is the fourth Texas student-athlete to win the NHSCA Senior Baseball Athlete of the Year Award and is the first non-pitcher to win the award.


Irving High School’s Blake Beaven won the award in 2007 before going on to become a first round pick of the Texas Rangers in the 2007 Major League Baseball Amateur Draft. The year before that, The Woodlands High School’s  Kyle Drabek was the NHSCA Baseball Player of the Year. Drabek pitched in the majors with the Toronto Blue Jays and Chicago White Sox. Current Kansas City Royals pitcher Homer Bailey won the award while playing at La Grange High in 2004.


Throughout May, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Athlete of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.


Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque. In addition, the Athlete of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Baseball Athlete of the Year:

2018 – Matthew Liberatore – Mountain Ridge HS, Arizona

2017 – Royce Lewis – Jserra HS, California

2016 – Riley Pint – Overland Park HS, Kansas

2015 – Mike Nikorak – Stroudsburg HS, Pennsylvania

2014 – Brady Aiken – Cathedral Catholic HS, California

2013 – Clint Frazier – Loganville HS, Georgia

2012 – Joey Gallo – Bishop Gorman HS, Nevada

2011 – Dylan Bundy – Owasso HS, Oklahoma

2010 - Drew Vettleson – Central Kitsap HS, Washington

2009 – Patrick Schuster – Mitchell HS, Florida

2008 – Kyle Skipworth – Patriot HS, California

2007 – Blake Beaven – Irving HS, Texas

2006 – Kyle Drabek – The Woodlands, Texas

2005 – Colby Rasmus – Russell County HS, Alabama

2004 – David “Homer” Bailey – La Grange HS, Texas

2003 – No Award Given

2002 – Jeff Francouer – Parkview HS, Georgia

2001 – Joe Mauer – Cretin-Derham Hall, Minnesota

2000 – Brian Hall – Carlsbad HS, New Mexico

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal