Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Texas' Hague named NHSCA Boys' Swimming Coach of the Year

Wednesday, April 17, 2019  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce David Hague of San Angelo Central High School in San Angelo, Texas as its National High School Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.


Hague retired at the end the 2018-19 swim season after leading the Bobcats’ boys’ and girls’ programs for 41 years. Both the boys’ and girls’ teams sent Coach Hague out on top by winning the District 2-6A championships. It was the ninth straight district title for the Bobcats, making them winners of 13 of the last 15 titles. On the girls’ side of things, it was the 10th title in the last 13 years for the Lady Cats.


His illustrious career includes 33 combined district championships, two regional championships, 43 combined District Coach of the Year awards and eight combined Regional Coach of the Year selections. Coach Hague was the Texas Class 6A State Boys’ Coach of the Year in 2016.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Hague,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “He has established San Angelo Central as one of the consistent swim programs in Texas. He exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing his high school student-athletes in the classroom and outside of it.”


Hague is the first Texas coach to be named the NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.


Throughout April, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Coach of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.


Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque.  In addition, the Coach of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coaches of the Year:

2018 – Jeff Meister – Punahouo School, Hawaii

2017 – Rich Howley – Dallastown HS, Pennsylvania

2016 – Mark Moorehouse – Fossil Ridge HS, Colorado

2015 – Larry Rogers - Bellarmine Prep, California

2014 – Joe Pereira – Skyline HS, Utah

2013 – Kevin Kinel – Chesterton HS, Indiana

2012 – Dave Hanson – Bishop Hendricken HS, Rhode Island

2011 – Art Downey – Edina HS, Minnesota

2010 – Mel Roberts – Tooele HS, Utah

2009 – Mike Torrey – Zeeland West HS, Michigan

2008 – Marty O’Toole – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2007 – John Turner – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2006 – Brian Metheny – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Mark Onstott – New Trier HS, Illinios

2004 – Jim Brower – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2003 – Virginia Weber – Moorestown HS, New Jersey 

2002 – Dr. Rick Creed – Parkview HS, Georgia

2001 – Dave Coffman – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2000 – Larry Shofe – The Bolles School, Florida


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal