Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

GA's Gabby Gonzales named the 2018-2019 Volleyball Athlete of the Year

Thursday, February 7, 2019  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is pleased to announce Gabby Gonzales of Walton High School in Marietta, Georgia as its National Senior Volleyball Athlete of the Year.


Gabby capped her scholastic career by leading Walton to its fourth straight Georgia state championship. This past season, Walton finished 41-3 with a No. 5 national ranking by MaxPreps.  Gonzales had an outstanding senior season with 539 kills in 109 total sets, carrying a 51.5 attack percentage. She also finished with 237 digs, 27 blocks and 34 aces.


Gonzales, who was named Gatorade’s Georgia Volleyball Player of the Year as a junior and senior, carries a 3.94 GPA. In addition to being named Georgia’s Class 7A Player of the Year and a 2018-19 Under Armour First Team All-American, she was also named an All-American by, FloVolleyball and MaxPreps. Gonzalez will attend Ohio State University in the fall.


“Gabby is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “She has excelled as much in the classroom as she has on the court. We congratulate Gabby on an outstanding high school career and wish her success at Ohio State.”


Gonzales is the first athlete from Georgia to win the NHSCA Senior Volleyball Athlete of the Year.


Throughout the next few months, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Athlete of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.


Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque.  In addition, the Athlete of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Volleyball Athlete of the Year:

2018 – Thayer Hall, Dorman HS, South Carolina

2017 – Brooke Heyne, Skutt Catholic HS, Nebraska

2016 – Khalia Lanier, Xavier College Prep, Arizona

2015 – Alexa Smith, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Alexa Filley – Assumption HS, Kentucky

2013 – Amber & Kadie Rolfzen – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2012 – Jordan Burgess – Berkeley HS, Florida

2011 – Courtney Van Groningen – Sterling HS, Nebraska

2010 – Morgan Broekhuis – Colorado Springs Christian, Colorado

2009 -  Gina Mancuso – Papillion-La Vista South HS, Nebraska

2008 – Kelly Murphy – Joliet Catholic Academy, Illinois

2007 – Alix Klineman – Mira Costa HS, California

2006 – Megan Hodge – Riverside HS, North Carolina

2005 – Cynthia Barboza – Long Beach Wilson HS, California

2004 – Angit McGinnis – Fraser HS, Michigan

2003 – Kristin Richards – Timpanogos HS, Utah

2002 – Bre Ladd – Canyon del Oro, Arizona

2001 – Jennifer Saleaumua – Bonita Vista HS, California

2000 – Laura Grote – Westwood HS, Texas


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal