Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

FL's Jen Darty named the 2018-2019 Volleyball Coach of the Year

Thursday, February 7, 2019  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Jen Darty of Oviedo High School in Oviedo, Florida as its National High School Volleyball Coach of the Year.


Darty led Oviedo to the 2018 Florida Class 9A state title, which was the second in her eight years as head coach. The Lions were ranked No. 1 in the state when they beat Palm Beach Gardens High School in the state championship match 25-17, 25-15 and 25-10. Oviedo finished No. 15 in the MaxPreps Top 25 national rankings.


“My kids did a good job of maximizing our execution, minimizing our errors and taking advantage of every opportunity,” Darty told the Orlando Sentinel after the victory. “Before the match we talked about enjoying the moment and not focusing on the end result. As long as we enjoyed the process we would be happy with the outcome.”


This past season, Oviedo finished 28-4, which gives her a lifetime record of 169-65. She has also been honored as the 2018 Florida Dairy Farmers Girls’ Volleyball Coach of the Year.


Under Darty, Oviedo won the 2013 Florida state title, plus her team finished runner-up in 2016.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Darty,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “She has established her program as not only one of the best in Florida, but in the nation. She exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing her high school student-athletes in the classroom and outside of it.”


Darty is the second coach from Florida to be named the NHSCA National Volleyball Coach of the Year.  Louise Crocco of Cardinal Gibbons High School won the award in 2006.


Throughout the next few months, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Coach of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.


Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque.  In addition, the Coach of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.


Past NHSCA National Volleyball Coaches of the Year:

2018 – Suzanne Fitzgerald, Walton HS, Georgia

2017 – Ben Maxfield, Corona del Sol HS, Arizona

2016 – Jean Kesterson, Indianapolis Cathedral HS, Indiana

2015 – Susan Odenbaugh, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Rick Lorenz, Portland Central Catholic, Oregon

2013 – Jack Magelssen – Denton Kellogg School, Michigan

2012 – Tom Turco – Barnstable HS, Massachusetts

2011 – Fred Rakers  - Mater Dei HS, Illinois

2010 – Laurie LaRusso – Darien HS, Connecticut

2009 -  Jan Stanley – West Henderson HS, North Carolina

2008 – Peg Kopec – St. Francis HS, Illinois

2007 – Steve Shondell - Burris Laboratory, Indiana

2006 – Louise Crocco – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida

2005 – Brenda LeBlanc – St. Joseph’s Academy, Louisiana

2004 – Lee Grisham – Wimberley HS, Texas

2003 – Arnie Meyer – Ursuline Academy, Ohio

2002 – Jan Barker – Amarillo HS, Texas

2001 – John Knuth – Marysville HS, Michigan

2000 – Larry Trupe – Torrey Pines, California


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal