Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Rhode Island's Jim Doyle named 2018-2019 Boys' Cross Country Coach of the Year

Friday, February 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Jim Doyle of Bishop Hendricken High School in Warwick, Rhode Island as its National High School Boys’ Cross Country Coach of the Year.


This past season saw Doyle lead Hendricken to the school’s 24th overall state cross country championship, 20 of those titles have come under the direction of Doyle, who also coaches the school’s indoor and outdoor track and field teams. His runners followed-up the state title with a fourth place finish at the prestigious Nike Cross Nationals in Oregon in December.


In 2017, Doyle was inducted into the Rhode Island Interscholastic League Athletic Hall of Fame. At the time he was called was called one of the most successful high school coaches in any sport with over 50 state championships in cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field.


Doyle has also been honored by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association as the Rhode Island Cross Country Coach of the Year for 2018.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Doyle,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “He has established Bishop Hendricken as one of the top cross country programs in Rhode Island and the nation. He exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing his high school student-athletes in the classroom and outside of it.”


Doyle is the second Rhode Island coach to be named the NHSCA National Boys’ Cross Country Coach of the Year. Ken Skelly of La Salle Academy won the award in 2015.


Throughout the next few months, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Coach of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.


Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque.  In addition, the Coach of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.


Past NHSCA National High School Boys’ Cross County Coaches of the Year:

2018 – Marc Hunter – Loudoun Valley HS, Virginia

2017 – Timo Mostert – American Fork HS, Utah

2016 – Doug Soles – Great Oak HS, California

2015 - Ken Skelly – La Salle Academy, Rhode Island

2014 – Mark Wieczorek – Gig Harbor HS, Washington

2013 – Jeff Morris – Perham HS, Minnesota

2012 – Laurens TenKate – Calvin Christian HS, Michigan

2011 – Adam Kedge – Albuquerque Academy, New Mexico

2010 – Walt Lang – Jesuit HS, California

2009 – Mike Holman – Lawrence Central HS, Indiana

2008 – Van Rose – Shawnee Mission Northwest HS, Kansas

2007 – Bill Greiten – Gillett HS, Wisconsin

2006 – Rick Baker – Hopi HS, Arizona

2005 – Davis Eidahl – Perkin HS, Iowa

2004 – Dan Green – The Woodlands, Texas

2003 – Joe Newton – York Community HS, Illinois

2002 – Rich Trenoze – Bayonne HS, New Jersey

2001 – Don Behnke – Stevens Point HS, Wisconsin

2000 – Joe Newton – York HS, Illinois

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal