Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Missouri's Jesse Griffin named 2018 NHSCA Girls' Track & Field Coach of the Year

Thursday, June 28, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Jesse Griffin, head coach at Lee’s Summit West High School in Lee’s Summit, Missouri as its 2017-18 National High School Girls’ Track and Field Coach of the Year.


This past spring, Griffin led LSW to its third straight team state championship. Griffin’s squad captured two gold medals at the state meet. Griffin has also won state Missouri cross country championships as the head coach of the girls’ teams at Lee’s Summit West and Raystown.


In 2017, Griffin was named Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Griffin as National Girls’ Track and Field Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Griffin’s commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the athletic fields makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Griffin is the first coach from Missouri to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Track and Field Coach of the Year award. 


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Girls’ Track and Field Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Tom Esslinger, Homewood HS, Alabama

2016 – Carmen Jackson, Northwestern HS - Florida

2015 – Jim Ciccarello, La Cueva HS – New Mexico

2014 – Don Norford, Long Beach Poly, California

2013 – June Villers – DeSoto HS, Texas

2012 – David Turnbull – Summit HS, Oregon

2011 – Susan Curnias – William H. Hall HS, Connecticut

2010 – Jim Tate – St. Paul’s Episcopal School, Alabama

2009 – Bill Stamper – Oak Ridge HS, Florida

2008 – Bryan Westfield – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2007 – James Holdren – Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, Virginia

2006 – Ed Bowie – Central HS, Maryland

2005 – Dan Kulper – Valley Christian HS, Arizona

2004 – Leon McKenzie – Benson Polytechnic HS, Oregon

2003 – Bryan Westfield – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2002 – Ted Knudson – Northrop HS, Indiana

2001 – Neal Morris – T.W. Andrews HS, North Carolina

2000 – Larry Colbert – Eleanor Roosevelt HS, Maryland


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal