Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Arkansas' Tiana Wilson named NHSCA Girls Track & Field Athlete of the Year

Thursday, June 28, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Tiana Wilson of Hamburg High School in Hamburg, Arkansas as the  2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Girls’ Track and Athlete of the Year.


Wilson closed out her scholastic career with three gold medals at the Class 4A state championships. She won the 100-, 200- and 400-meter dashes. She set state records in the 100 and 200 at the Arkansas Meet of Champions. For her high school career, Wilson won eleven gold medals.


Wilson, who owns a 3.86 GPA in the classroom, is also a two-time winner of Gatorade’s Arkansas Track and Field Athlete of the Year. She will attend the University of Arkansas on an athletic scholarship.


“Tiana is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Tiana has excelled in sports and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college.”

Wilson is the first Arkansas student-athlete to win the NHSCA Girls’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award. 


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-2018 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year:

2017 – Kethlin Campbell, Shelbyville Central HS, Tennessee

2016 – Cassondra Hall, Warner Robins HS, Georgia

2015 – Jasmyne Graham, Roosevelt HS, California

2014 – Ariana Washington, Long Beach Poly, California

2013 – Haley Couser – Gresham HS, Oregon

2012 -  Shelbi Vaughan – Legacy HS, Texas

2011 – Morgann LeLeux – Catholic HS, Louisiana

2010 – A’Lexus Brannon – Ozen HS, Texas

2009 – Tohi Young – Del City HS, Oklahoma

2008 – Emily Reese – Chamblee HS, Georgia

2007 – Bianca Knight – Ridgeland HS, Mississippi

2006 – Griffin Matthew – Niwot HS, Colorado

2005 – Alexandra Anderson – Morgan Park HS, Illinois

2004 – Ashley Owens – Liberty HS, Colorado

2003 – Allyson Felix – Los Angeles Baptist HS, California

2002 – Sally Meyerhoff – Mountain Pointe HS, Arizona

2001 – Monique Henderson – Morse HS, California

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal