Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

MD's Kieran McDermott named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Track & Field Athlete of the Year

Tuesday, June 26, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Kieran McDermott of Bel Air High School in Bel Air, Maryland as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Boys’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year. 


McDermott won three gold medals this spring in Maryland’s 3A state championships. He won the 800 and 1,600 meter races. His 800-meter time of one-minute 59-point-90 seconds set a Maryland state record. McDermott also anchored the gold medal winning 4X800 meter relay team.


McDermott, who earned a 3.87 GPA in the classroom, will continue his running career at Princeton University.


“Kieran is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Kieran has excelled in his sport and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him good luck in college.”


McDermott is the first athlete from Maryland to win the NHSCA Senior Boys’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award. 


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-2018 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year:

2017- Damion Thomas, Northeast HS, Florida

2016 – Norman Grimes, Canyon HS, Texas

2015 – Chad Zallow, John F. Kennedy HS, Warren, Ohio

2014 – Trentavis Friday – Cherryville HS, North Carolina

2013 – Grant Hill – Huntsville HS, Alabama

2012 – Jarrion Lawson – Liberty-Eylau HS, Texas

2011 – Gunnar Nixon – Santa Fe HS, Oklahoma

2010 – Sam Crouser – Gresham HS, Oregon

2009 – Mason Finley – Buena Vista HS, Colorado

2008 – Christian Taylor – Sandy Creek HS, Georgia

2007 – Craig Forys – Colts Neck HS, New Jersey

2006 – David Klech – California HS, California

2005 – Kevin Craddock – James Logan HS, California

2004 – Xavier Carter – Palm Bay HS, Florida

2003 – Earvin Parker – Lewisville HS, Texas

2002 – Ryan Shields – Leo HS, Illinois

2001 – Alan Webb – South Lakes HS, Virginia

2000 – David Fraser – Westfield HS, Texas


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal