Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

CA's Aaron Ballou named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Track & Field Coach of the Year

Tuesday, June 26, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Aaron Ballou, head coach at Murrieta Mesa High School in Murrieta, California as its 2017-2018 National High School Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year.


Ballou led Murrieta Mesa to its first-ever CIF state team championship earlier this month. Ballou built the program from the ground up as the first and only coach the school has ever had since opening in 2009.  Murrieta Mesa won the team title with 35 points, led by its 1,600 relay team that won the gold with a time of 3-minutes 10-point-86 seconds, which was the best time in the nation this past season.


Ballou, who also coaches the school’s cross country program, was also named the HSGameTime Track and Field coach of the Year.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Ballou as National Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Ballou’s commitment to excellence for his student-athletes in sports and in the classroom makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Ballou is the first coach from California to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Track and Field Coach of the Year Award.


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Track and Field Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Juris Green – The Woodlands HS, Texas

2016 – Aaron Berndt – Wayzata HS, Minnesota

2015 – John Jones – Spring Valley HS, South Carolina

2014 – Alex Armeteros – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2013 – Robert Steele – North Rowan HS, North Carolina

2012 – Woody Barnett – Pearl HS, Mississippi

2011 – Robbie Robinson – Mountain View HS, Arizona

2010 – Pete Boudreaux – Catholic HS, Louisiana

2009 – Dennis McNulty – Warren Central HS, Indiana

2008 – Warren Mitchell – Limon HS, Colorado

2007 – Joe Howell – Lisbon HS, North Dakota

2006 – Pat Galle – UMS Wright, Alabama

2005 – Don Carnahan – Russellville HS, Alabama

2004 – Chad Walker – Wheeler HS, Georgia

2003 – Rob Johnson – Clare HS, Michigan

2002 – Lindy Remigino – Hartford HS, Connecticut

2001 – Roger Mathiesen – Kearney HS, Nebraska

2000 – Chuck Koeppen – Carmel HS, Indiana


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal