Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Georgia's Chris Parker named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Golf Coach of the Year

Monday, June 25, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Chris Parker, head coach at Columbus High School in Columbus, Georgia as its 2017-18 National High School Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year.

This past season, Parker led his school to its third straight Georgia state team championship. Since taking over the program in 1994, Parker’s teams have consistently finished in the Top 5 in the state. This year’s 4A state title was the fifth overall under Parker, who has also guided the Blue Devils to four state runner-up finishes.

After capturing the school’s third straight title, Parker told the Ledger-Enquirer, “It was exciting because we lost three seniors from last year who are all playing college golf. We had to replace a lot. This team really improved a lot, and over the last month or two they’ve played as well as any team we’ve ever had.” 

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Parker as National Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Parker commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the golf course makes him an great choice for this honor.”

Coach Parker is the first coach from Georgia to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Golf Coach of the Year. 

Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.

Past NHSCA National Boys’ Golf Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Hal Rossow – Panorama HS - Iowa

2016 – Bob McPhail – Norwich Free Academy - Connecticut

2015 – Dave Messerli – Marion HS - Iowa

2014 – George Bitner – Spring Lake HS, Michigan

2013 – Jim Jacobsen – Bergen Catholic HS, New Jersey

2012 – Jeff Doherty – Edmond North HS, Oklahoma

2011 – Larry Ries – Hunterdon Central HS, New Jersey

2010 – Darrell Berglund - Hazen HS, North Dakota

2009 – Jim Bennett - Grosse Ile HS, Michigan

2008 - Richard Gaard - Decorah HS, Iowa

2007 – Terry Nelson - Whitefish HS, Montana

2006 – Marty Donlon - St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2005 – Rob Prentiss - St. Charles North HS, Illinois

2004 – Bill Roller – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2003 – Mark Kedy – Ada HS, Oklahoma

2002 – Mike Ellis - Canlais HS, Maine

2001 – David Hutton - Grandville HS, Michigan

2000 – Wayne Everett – Kingston HS, Tennessee

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal