Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Utah's Laurie Dyer named 2018 Girls' Golf Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 20, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Laurie Dyer, head coach at Desert Hills High School in St. George, Utah as its 2017-18 National High School Girls’ Golf Coach of the Year.


Last month, Dyer led her school to its ninth straight Utah Class state championship. Desert Hills won the state title by 32 strokes over second place Park City. After eight straight Class 3A titles, the Lady Thunder moved up to Class 4A this season.


Dyer is the only girls’ golf coach that the school has had since opening in 2009. While Dyer and Desert Hills didn’t win a state title in ’09, it has every year since then. The school did win a regional championship though in 2009.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Dyer as National Girls’ Golf Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Dyer commitment to excellence for her student-athletes on-and-off the golf course makes her an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Dyer is the first coach from Utah to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Golf Coach of the Year.


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Girls’ Golf Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Mark Bender, Bellarmine Prep, Washington

2016 -  Margaret Stanley – Socorro HS, New Mexico

2015 – Leslie Bender – Sacred Heart Academy, Kentucky

2014 – Dave Gianferante – Notre Dame Academy, Massachusetts

2013 – Jodi Schoeck – Barrington HS, Illinois

2012 – Karen Gravley – Allen HS, Texas

2011 – Ryan Best – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Kansas

2010 – Kathy Berglund - Hazen HS, North Dakota

2009 – Ken Van Den Boom – Caledonia HS, Minnesota

2008 – Carol Fromuth – St. Joseph’s Academy, Missouri

2007 – Dr. H. King Oehmig – The Baylor School, Tennessee

2006 – Jim Garrett – Penn HS, Indiana

2005 – Sister Lynn Winsor – Xavier College Prep, Arizona

2004 – Grayson Fitzhugh – Mount Notre Dame, Ohio

2003 – Mary Flande – Sisters HS, Oregon

2002 - Dewey Stendahl – Middleton HS, Wisconsin

2001 – Sharon Most – Martinsville HS, Indiana

2000 – Donna Pierce – Highland Park HS, Texas


more Calendar

5/24/2019 » 5/27/2019
20th Annual NHSCA National Duals

Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal