Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Illinois' Tom Stanhope named 2018 NHSCA Girls' Tennis Coach of the Year

Thursday, June 14, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Tom Stanhope, head coach at Stevenson High School in Lincolnshire, Illinois as its National High School Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year.


Stanhope led Stevenson to an Illinois 2A team championship in the fall. In addition to this year’s state championship, in eight years as the head coach of the girls’ team, Stanhope led the school to three runner-up finishes, plus a third place finish. He compiled a 124-14 dual match record that includes back-to-back undefeated seasons in 2016 and 2017. Stevenson is currently riding a 33- match win streak.


Stanhope, who retired at the end of the season, but will continue coaching the boys’ team, was named as Illinois High School Tennis Coaches Association as its Class AA Coach of the Year.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Stanhope as National Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Stanhope commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the tennis court makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Coach Stanhope is the first coach from Illinois to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Tennis Coach of the Year. 


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Girls’ Tennis Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Brian Higgins, Ellsworth HS, Maine

2016 – Kim Marchese, Ramapo HS, New Jersey

2015 – Laurie Martin, Xavier Prep, Arizona

2014 – Father Frank Kissel, Marist HS, Georgia

2013 – Vincent Romeo – The Miami Valley School, Ohio

2012 – Dick Villaflor – The Heritage Hall School, Oklahoma

2011 – Anita Murphy – Lewiston HS, Maine

2010 – Dave Steinbach – Brookfield Central HS, Wisconsin

2009 – Jeff Holman – Haddonfield Memorial, New Jersey

2008 – Ed Yarbrough – Jasper HS, Indiana

2007 – Steve Paulsen – Edina HS, Minnesota

2006 – Michael Kypriss – Dr. Michael Krop HS, Florida

2005 – Kristie Stevens – Catalina Foothills HS, Arizona

2004 – Emilio Gonzalez – Sunset HS, Florida

2003 – Anni Miller – Lakeridge HS, Oregon

2002 – Susan Stevens – Beverly Hills HS, California

2001 – Jo Cabana – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida

2000 – Steve Spivey – Needham Broughton HS, North Carolina


Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal