Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Delaware's Jim Harvey named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Tennis Coach of the Year

Thursday, June 14, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association, NHSCA, is proud to announce Jim Harvey, head coach at Caesar Rodney High School in Camden, Delaware as its National High School Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year.


This past season, Harvey led the Caesar Rodney to five state championships in the last six years. Harvey who just finished his 34th year as the school’s head coach, won his 300th match in 2015. Five times, he’s been named the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association’s Coach of the Year.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Harvey as National Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Harvey's commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the tennis courts makes him a great choice for this honor.”


Coach Harvey is the first coach from Delaware to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Tennis Coach of the Year. 


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Tennis Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Mike Sabin, Wellesley HS, Massachusetts

2016 – Al Must, Adams HS, Michigan

2015 – Dan Holden, Highland Park, Texas

2014 – Rusty Komori, Punahou School, Hawaii

2013 – Tony Splendore – Mt. Pleasant HS, Pennsylvania

2012 – Bill Kingston – Moorestown HS, New Jersey

2011 – Kelly Mulligan – Gulliver Prep, Florida

2010 – James Soloman – William Hall HS, Connecticut

2009 – Connie Jones – Greenwich HS, Connecticut

2008 – Preston Jackson, Jr. – Boys Latin School, Maryland

2007 – Tom Pullen – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2006 – Tim Mang – Corona del Mar HS, California

2005 – Don Barnes – Bishop O’Gorman HS, South Dakota

2004 – Tony Kamen – Naples HS, Florida

2003 – Bob Wood – University Liggett School, Michigan

2002 – Jerry Lacey – St. Mark’s School, Texas

2001 – Leo Scoda – Phoenixville HS, Pennsylvania

2000 – Gary Pilling – Walker HS, Alabama


Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal