Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

MO's Kyle Ruark named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Soccer Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, June 13, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Kyle Ruark of Rockhurst High School in Kansas City, Missouri as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year.  


Ruark was Missouri’s Class 4 Player of the Year, leading the Rockhurst Hawklets to a state championship during the 2017 season. Ruark scored 26 goals, including the game-winning goal in the state championship game. He also had 13 assists this past season.


Ruark, who will attend the University of Chicago, was a two-year captain for Rockhurst, plus he was named an Academic All-American.


“Kyle is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Kyle has excelled on the soccer field and in the classroom.  We congratulate him on an outstanding high school career and wish him good luck in college.”

Ruark is the first Missouri athlete to win the NHSCA Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year Award.


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-2018 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Boys’ Soccer Athlete of the Year:

2017 – Stephen Milhoan – St. Ignatius HS, Ohio

2016 – Esteban Calvo – Montverde Academy, Florida

2015 – Connor Smith – McDonogh School, Maryland

2014 – Brad Ross – Franklin HS, Tennessee

2013 – Christian Roldan – El Rancho HS, California

2012 – Andrew Harris – The Gilman School, Maryland

2011 – Dzenan Catic – East Kentwood HS, Michigan

2010 – Soony Saad – Dearborn HS, Michigan

2009 – Kevin Bick – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2008 – Casey Townsend – Traverse City West HS, Michigan

2007 – Andrew Duran – Lincoln-Way East HS, Illinois

2006 -  Eric Alexander – Portage Central HS, Michigan

2005 – Lee Nguyen – Plano East HS, Texas

2004 – Nick Colaluca – La Salle Academy, Rhode Island

2003 – Greg Dalby – Poway HS, California

2002 – David Walters – Lake Lehman HS, Pennsylvania

2001 – Ned Grabavoy – Lincoln-Way HS, Illinois

2000 – Dan Walsh – US Air Academy, Colorado


Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal