Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

AZ's Eric Kibler named 2018 NHSCA Baseball Coach of the Year

Wednesday, June 6, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |



The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Eric Kibler, head coach at Horizon High School in Scottsdale, Arizona as its 2017-18 National High School Boys’ Baseball Coach of the Year.


Kibler is the only baseball coach that Horizon has ever had. He began the program 38 years ago and this past season he won his 800th overall game, which makes him Arizona’s all-time winningest high school baseball coach. Kibler has led Horizon to six state championships (1995, 1996, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010) with three state runner-up finishes. He also led the school to 20 regional championships.


Kibler has coached 151 plyers who have gone on to play college baseball. He’s had 34 players that have been drafted in the Major League Baseball Amateur Draft, three of whom have been taken in the first round. In 2015, Kibler was part of the coaching staff at USA Baseball 18U team that won a gold medal in the WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup in Japan.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Kibler as National Boys’ Baseball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Kibler has amassed an incredible record since starting the Horizon High baseball program. His commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the field makes him an great choice for this honor.”


Kibler is the third coach from Arizona to win the NHSCA National Baseball Coach of the Year Award. Jerry Dawson of Chaparral High School was our winner in 2010 and Jeff Griffith of Cactus High won it in 2004.


Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Baseball Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Todd Boyer – Shawnee HS, Oklahoma

2016 – Rich Bielski – Archbishop McCarty HS, Florida

2015 – Chan Brown – Parkview HS, Georgia
2014 – Ken Frank – Toms River South HS, New Jersey
2013 – Phil Clark – Bartlett High School, Bartlett, Tennessee
2012 – Gene Schultz – Kee HS, Iowa
2011 – Tom O’Connell – Catholic Central HS, Wisconsin
2010 - Jerry Dawson – Chaparral HS, Arizona
2009 – Guy Anderson – Cordova HS, California
2008 – Jerry Boatner – West Lauderdale HS, Florida
2007 – Ron Eastman – The Woodlands, Texas
2006 – Scott Salow – Homer HS, Michigan
2005 – Stan McKeever – La Cueva HS, New Mexico
2004 – Jeff Griffith – Cactus HS, Arizona
2003 – Jim Danley – Eaton HS, Colorado
2002 – John Lowery – Jefferson HS, West Virginia
2001 – Rich Hofman – Westminster Academy, Florida
2000 – Sam Blalock – Rancho Bernardo, California

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal