Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

IL's Erin Bengston named 2018 NHSCA Softball Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, May 16, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Erin Bengston of Grant Community High School in Fox Lake, Illinois as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Softball Athlete of the Year.


Bengston is a four-year member of Grant’s varsity team during which time she’s been the named the team’s MVP as a freshman, sophomore and junior. Last season she hit 22 home runs, which was tied for the third most in the state of Illinois. She also set a single-season record with 70 RBI’s.


Bengston, who will attend Holy Cross, won the team’s Scholar Athlete in 2015, 2016 and 2017, plus she’s a member of the National Honor Society. She is currently serving as team captain during her senior season.


“Erin is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “She has excelled on the field and off. We congratulate Erin on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck at Holy Cross.”


Bengston is the second player from Illinois to win the NSHCA Senior Softball Athlete of the Year Award. Andrea DiPrima of Buffalo Grove High School won the award in 2011.


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-2018 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently under design. 


Past selections for Senior National Softball Athlete of the Year:

2017 – Alexis Holloway – Crown Point HS, Indiana

2016 – Maddy Barone – Silver Lake HS, Massachusetts

2015 – Taylor McQuillin – Mission Viejo HS , California

2014 – Johanna Grauer – Amador Valley HS, California

2013 – Carley Hoover – D.W. Daniel HS, South Carolina

2012 – Rainey Gaffin – Legacy HS, Colorado

2011 – Andrea DiPrima – Buffalo Grove HS, Illinois

2010 - Dallas Escobedo – St. Mary’s HS - Arizona

2009 – Kensie Fowler – Canyon del Oro HS, Arizona

2008 – Cathleen “Cat” Hosfield – Riverdale HS, Tennessee

2007 – Jordan Taylor – Valencia (Placentia) HS, California

2006 – Kirsten Shortridge – Keller HS, Texas

2005 – Valerie Chapple – Olathe East HS, Kansas

2004 – Anjelica Selden – Vanden HS, California

2003 – Lisa Dodd – University City, California

2002 – Alicia Hollowell – Fairfield HS, California

2001 – Catherine “Cat” Osterman – Cypress Springs HS, Texas

2000 – Kristin Schmidt – North Shore HS, Texas

more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal