Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

CO's Zoe Bartel named 2018 NHSCA Girls' Swimming Athlete of the Year

Friday, May 11, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) is pleased to announce Zoe Bartel of Fossil Ridge High School in Fort Collins, Colorado as the 2017-2018 NHSCA National High School Senior Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year. 


Bartel closed out her incredible scholastic swimming career with four gold medals at the Class 5A Colorado Swimming and Diving Championships. She won the 200 IM in 1:59.17 and the 100 breaststroke in 1:00.47. She was also on two gold medal winning relay teams, including the 200-yard medley relay team that set a new national record at the state championships. Bartel and her teammates scored a state record 424 points to capture the school’s second straight state title and third in the last four years.


Bartel, who will attend Stanford University on a scholarship, swam in three events at the 2016 Olympic Trials. While she didn’t qualify for the Olympics, she did win two gold medals at the 2016 Junior Pan Pacs in Hawaii.


“Zoe is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “Zoe has excelled in the pool and in the classroom.  We congratulate her on an outstanding high school career and wish her good luck in college.”


Bartel is the third swimmer from Colorado to win the NHSCA National Girls’ Swimming Athlete of the Year Award. Five-time Olympic gold medalist Missy Franklin from Regis Jesuit High School won the award in 2013 and Cherry Creek High’s Bonnie Brandon.


This the 19th year straight year the NHSCA is honoring achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2017-2018 school year.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Digital Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for the Girls’ Swimming Athletes of the Year:

2017 – Brooke Forde – Sacred Heart Academy - Kentucky

2016 – Beata Nelson – Vernona/Mount Horeb HS - Wisconsin

2015 – Katie Ledecky - Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart, Maryland

2014 – Janet Hu – Oakton HS, Virginia

2013 – Missy Franklin – Regis Jesuit HS, Colorado

2012 – Bonnie Brandon – Cherry Creek HS, Colorado

2011 – Gretchen Jaques – Glendora HS, California

2010 – Emily Bos – Holland HS, Michigan

2009 – Mary Beck - Westlake HS, Texas

2008 – Michelle McKeehan – Center Grove HS, Indiana

2007 – Lauren English – Montville Twp. HS, New Jersey

2006 – Alexandra Clarke – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Hannah Smith – Dexter HS, Michigan

2004 – Rhiannon Jeffrey – Atlantic HS, Florida

2003 – Kara Lynn Joyce – Pioneer HS, Michigan

2002 – Mary Descenza – Rosary HS, Illinois

2001 – Kaitlin Sandeno – El Toro HS, California

2000 – Sara McLarty – Deland HS, Florida


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal