Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Hawaii's Jeff Meister named 2018 Boys' Swimming Coach of the Year

Wednesday, May 9, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |



The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Jeff Meister, head coach at Punahou School in Honolulu, Hawaii, as its 2017-18 National High School Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year.



In his three decades of leading the Punahou boys’ and girls’ teams, Meister has led the school to 34 state titles (16 boys and 18 girls). This past season, both squads won state titles in February. Meister is Hawaii’s all-time winningest swim coach and has been named Interscholastic League of Honolulu’s Coach of the Year 24 times.  Later this year, Meister will be inducted into the National Federation of High School State Association’s Hall of Fame.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Meister as National Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “It’s a pleasure to honor Coach Meister who has dedicated his life to the student-athletes at Punahou.  His commitment to excellence for his student-athletes in-and-out of the pool makes him an great choice for this honor at the end of an incredible career.”



Meister is the first coach from Hawaii to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coach of the Year Award.



Throughout 2018, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.



Past NHSCA National Boys’ Swimming Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Rich Howley – Dallastown HS, Pennsylvania

2016 – Mark Moorehouse – Fossil Ridge HS, Colorado

2015 – Larry Rogers - Bellarmine Prep, California

2014 – Joe Pereira – Skyline HS, Utah

2013 – Kevin Kinel – Chesterton HS, Indiana

2012 – Dave Hanson – Bishop Hendricken HS, Rhode Island

2011 – Art Downey – Edina HS, Minnesota

2010 – Mel Roberts – Tooele HS, Utah

2009 – Mike Torrey – Zeeland West HS, Michigan

2008 – Marty O’Toole – St. Xavier HS, Kentucky

2007 – John Turner – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2006 – Brian Metheny – Sunnyslope HS, Arizona

2005 – Mark Onstott – New Trier HS, Illinios

2004 – Jim Brower – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2003 – Virginia Weber – Moorestown HS, New Jersey 

2002 – Dr. Rick Creed – Parkview HS, Georgia

2001 – Dave Coffman – St. Xavier HS, Ohio

2000 – Larry Shofe – The Bolles School, Florida


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal