Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Alabama's Bucky McMillan named 2018 NHSCA Boys' Basketball Coach of the Year

Monday, April 23, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Bucky McMillan, head coach at Mountain Brook High School in Mountain Brook, Alabama as its 2017-18 National High School Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year.


McMillan, who just finished his 10th year as Mountain Brook’s head coach, led the school to its second straight Class 7A state championship this past season. It was the Spartans fourth state championship in the last six years. Mountain Brook finished the 2017-18 season with a 34-3 record and ranked No. 20 in the USA TODAY Super 25 national rankings.


Mountain Brook won 23 straight games at the end of the season with a 15-point average margin of victory. Over the last six seasons, Mountain Brook has gone 163-44. McMillan was named the Over the Mountain Journal’s Coach of the Year.


“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach McMillan as National Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach McMillan has amassed an incredible record with four Alabama state championships as a head coach. His commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the court makes him an great choice for this honor.”


McMillan is the first coach from Alabama to win the NHSCA National Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year Award.


Throughout the 2017-18 school year, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.


Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.


Past NHSCA National Boys’ Basketball Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Tyrone Slaughter – Whitney Young HS, Illinois

2016 – Sharman White – Miller Grove HS, Georgia

2015 – Melvin Randall – Blanche Ely HS , Florida

2014 – Gary McKight – Mater Dei HS, California

2013 – Tony Harper – Montwood HS, Texas

2012 – Douglas Lipscomb – Wheeler HS, Georgia

2011 – Vito Montelli – St. Joseph HS, Connecticut

2010 - Harvey Kitani – Fairfax HS, California

2009 - Jack Curran – Archbishop Molloy, New York

2008 – Dick Katte – Denver Christian HS, Colorado

2007 – Bob Hurley, Sr. – St. Anthony HS, New Jersey

2006 – Jack Keefer, Lawrence North HS, Indiana

2005 – Robert Hughes, Dunbar HS, Texas

2004 – Charles Smith, Peabody Magnet HS, Louisiana

2003 – Dave Garvin, Philomath HS, Oregon

2002 – Jack Butcher, Loogootee HS, Indiana

2001 – Bob Williams, Schaumburg HS, Illinois

2000 – Russell Otis, Dominguez HS, California


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal