Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Headline News

Georgia's Suzanne Fitzgerald named 2018 NHSCA Volleyball Coach of the Year

Friday, April 20, 2018  
Posted by: Mattie Potter
Share |


The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Suzanne Fitzgerald, head coach at Walton High School in Marietta, Georgia as its 2017-18 National High School Volleyball Coach of the Year.



Fitzgerald, who took over the Walton program in 2006, led the Lady Raiders to their third straight state championship in 2017, which was their seventh in the last eight years.  MaxPreps, PrepVolleyball and FloVolleyball all named Walton the No. 1 team in the nation. The Marietta Daily named her the 2017 Cobb County Coach of the Year.



Not only did Walton win the Georgia AAAAAAA state title, the Lady Raiders only lost three sets in 41 total matches. Their only loss was against national power Mater Dei (California) in the Nike Tournament of Champion in Phoenix.



“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Fitzgerald as National Volleyball Coach of the Year,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Fitzgerald commitment to excellence for his student-athletes on-and-off the volleyball court makes her a great choice for this honor.”



Coach Fitzgerald is the first coach from Georgia to win the NHSCA National Volleyball Coach of the Year. 



Throughout 2018, the NHSCA is honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.  It’s the 19th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.



Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Digital Museum that the NHSCA is currently designing.



Past NHSCA National Volleyball Coaches of the Year:

2017 – Ben Maxfield, Corona del Sol HS, Arizona

2016 – Jean Kesterson, Indianapolis Cathedral HS, Indiana

2015 – Susan Odenbaugh, Lewis-Palmer HS, Colorado

2014 – Rick Lorenz, Portland Central Catholic, Oregon

2013 – Jack Magelssen – Denton Kellogg School, Michigan

2012 – Tom Turco – Barnstable HS, Massachusetts

2011 – Fred Rakers - Mater Dei HS, Illinois

2010 – Laurie LaRusso – Darien HS, Connecticut

2009 - Jan Stanley – West Henderson HS, North Carolina

2008 – Peg Kopec – St. Francis HS, Illinois

2007 – Steve Shondell - Burris Laboratory, Indiana

2006 – Louise Crocco – Cardinal Gibbons HS, Florida

2005 – Brenda LeBlanc – St. Joseph’s Academy, Louisiana

2004 – Lee Grisham – Wimberley HS, Texas

2003 – Arnie Meyer – Ursuline Academy, Ohio

2002 – Jan Barker – Amarillo HS, Texas

2001 – John Knuth – Marysville HS, Michigan

2000 – Larry Trupe – Torrey Pines, California


more Calendar
Online Surveys

Contact Us

One South Third Street
Suite 201
Easton, PA 18042

(610) 923-0900


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal